1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

new at games

Discussion in 'Games' started by newbie2015, Jan 15, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. newbie2015

newbie2015 Thread Starter

Hi,
    I am new at games. I recently got a Elite Gaming Headset with Microphone for Xbox 360. I have windows 8.1 on my desktop. On the Start menu I noticed that I have the Xbox game icon. I want to know how do I play games using the headset that I got. I am new to playing games on the computer could someone help me?

2. Super-D-38

Super-D-38

Welcome to TSG! (y)

Not exactly sure what your asking here.
    Play with voice chat or are you hoping for game audio through the headset?

I can't say for sure on that exact headset, but to my knowledge, pretty much all headsets that plug into the controller are only used for voice chat. The controller doesn't get game sounds.

Researching the headset.... If I found the right one, it plugs in by USB?
    So, my guess is you will need drivers to get it working on your PC.
    Did it come with a driver install disc?
    Have you installed anything for the headset?

If windows found the headphones and installed correct drivers, you may need to go into your audio settings and select them as output device.

3. valis

valis Moderator

also, you may want to double check that xbox icon....it's most likely for music or video.

4. newbie2015

It has a USB, and a plug that plugs into a controller (I think, which I don't have), and 2 other plugs, (green and pink), what do I need to get this headset to work? I did not come with a install disc. where would I get these drivers? I have not installed anything for the headset. I thought I could just plug it to the tower and it would work, but it didn't.

5. valis

valis Moderator