New at PC lingo, please help!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

bo0sheke

I'm new at PC lingo, and recently got a hand-me-down PC from my parents, what I do know
P4 2.4ghz
512mb
40ghz
and that it's a HP

The video card that was put in it, is below par. :(
When I go to play games with friends on the net, I have problems. My new game Half Life 2 has major problems with it. Even the Halo PC looks shabby, the "specular" option won't even highlight. this card is a:
3DForce2 MX-64DDR-TV AGP 2x/4x

WHICH brings me to my problem.
I want to buy a new card that will make my games look better, and the "specular" setting to be changeable. I don't know what type of Motherboard I have, and I dont know how to find out.

I've googled around and found a site telling me that I can't put a 8x card in a 4x slot w/out messing up the PC, unless it has the same voltage.

So, if some 1 can tell me if I can have a 8x card in this PC that would be great, and if i need to give out info on the Motherboard to do that, please tell me how i can find the information :confused:

Thanks for the help in advance ;)

bo0sheke

WOW! after a while of googling, I found this http://h18000.www1.hp.com/products/quickspecs/11414_na/11414_na.HTML

THANK YOU!

this is what it tells me

Intel Extreme Graphics
(Integrated with Intel 845G chipset)
Bus Type Integrated
AGP Interface Supports a single 1.5v Accelerated Graphics Port Interface, Specification 2.0 compliant device
Supports 1x/2x/4x data transfers and 2x/4x fast writes
32-deep AGP request queue
AGP signals multiplexed with two DVO ports
Supports ADD (AGP Digital Display) cards

With this info, could I buy a 8x card? or 4x/8x card?

Triple6

First Name
Rob