1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New At&t dsl; linksys router problems

Discussion in 'Networking' started by redbirdsaaa, Aug 24, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. redbirdsaaa

    redbirdsaaa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    I have a linksys g 2.4 wireless router. This morning I switch from comcast cable internet to att dsl service. I was provided a motorola modem. I can connect the modem directly to my computer and the internet service is fine. But I am trying to get the linksys wireless router set up and when I connect the line from the modem, to the router, then to the computer I get nothing. I was told that I need to reset the wireless router settings by Linksys but I can not do it if I dont have internet access. PLEASE HELP
     
  2. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Here is a link to the linksys site with info on this subject.
    http://linksys.custhelp.com/cgi-bin...er/std_adp.php?p_faqid=3687&lid=7783238305B03
    Also here is a TSG home grown discussion on this subject.
    Your modem probably is a modem/router combo.Here are some possible fixes .

    a. Bridge the modem/router unit so that it bypasses the router function and acts as a modem only. Or,

    b. Change the address range used by one of the routers, say, to 192.168.3.x. Or,

    c. Use the second router as an ethernet switch and wireless access point per the following recipe.




    Connecting two soho routers in a network

    Tutorial from Johnwill from the Networking Forum



    Note: The "primary" router can be an actual router, a software gateway like Microsoft Internet Connection Sharing, or a server connection that has the capability to supply more than one IP address using DHCP server capability. No changes are made to the primary "router" configuration.

    Configure the IP address of the secondary router(s) to be in the same subnet as the primary router, but out of the range of the DHCP server in the primary router. For instance DHCP server addresses 192.168.0.2 through 192.168.0.100, I'd assign the secondary router 192.168.0.254 as it's IP address, 192.168.0.253 for another router, etc.

    Note: Do this first, as you will have to reboot the computer to connect to the router again for the remaining changes.

    Disable the DHCP server in the secondary router.

    Setup the wireless section just the way you would if it was the primary router, channels, encryption, etc.

    Connect from the primary router's LAN port to one of the LAN ports on the secondary router. If there is no uplink port and neither of the routers have auto-sensing ports, use a cross-over cable. Leave the WAN port unconnected!

    This procedure bypasses the routing function (NAT layer) and configures the router as a switch (or wireless access point for wireless routers).
     
  3. redbirdsaaa

    redbirdsaaa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    My modem is not wireless router/modem in one. Sorry to be difficult but your instructions are beyond my computer IQ.
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    What's the exact make/model of the modem and the router?
     
  5. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Hum:The linksys link even had pictures. :D
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Pictures, yes. Model number, no.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/855178

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice