1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New Board and Win2k

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Reptile, Nov 10, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Reptile

    Reptile Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 1999
    Messages:
    19
    Hi chaps,

    I've just upgraded one of my PCs with a new motherboard, CPU etc, however when I came to boot it up Win2k threw a blue screen and said "INACCESSIBLE_BOOT_DEVICE".

    The bios recognised both my existing IDE devices (HD, CD-ROM), however I can't do the things Win2k suggested (Remove HD Controllers, Run Chkdsk) because I can't get a command prompt or boot in any mode.

    I've still got the old board, if that may be needed again.

    Any help greatly appreciated,

    Rep
     
  2. Dan O

    Dan O

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 1999
    Messages:
    8,974
    The operating system (OS) is tied very tightly to the hardware now days. Because you changed the motherboard, CPU, and etc. the OS is very confused. You need to re-install Windows 2000. I recommend you first backup your data, format the hard drive to start fresh, and then install Windows 2000.

    Cheers.
     
  3. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    40,184
    The reason it will not boot is probably with your old mb you installed the chipset / vga drivers for that mb. Win2k will not boot with proprietary drivers. You can hook up your old mb and change the ide drivers back to windows default then you will be able to swap mb.
    I think you will be better off with a clean install of win2k. Backup anything that you want to save and do the clean install. If for some reason you do not want to do a clean install, then you can use the procedure I described above.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/58147

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice