1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New Build - Graphics Card Not Working

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by aidanboland, May 10, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. aidanboland

    aidanboland Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Hey guys,

    I've just rebuilt an old computer. I bought a new motherboard, but the graphics card wouldn't work so presuming that was fried, I bought a new one. Same story again. Computer is starting fine, humming away perfectly but I can see nothing.

    The graphics card fan is also working. I'm not sure what the problem is. My monitor is showing no signs of life.

    My motherboard is an ASUS M5 A97 LE R2.0. I've tried the graphics card in both PCI Express 2.0 slots, but to no success.

    Any ideas?

    Aidan.
     
  2. replay

    replay

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    5,536
    Take a look at the memory......take out a stick...etc
    Did u plug in both power plugs to the mobo???
    Not a big fan of that asus board...had one with all kinds of issues ( keep your receipt)
     
  3. replay

    replay

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    5,536
    Also good idea to do a out of case build with the bare essentials
    On the new motherboard box works....
    Also it prob won't boot into windows if u r using the old hard drive from the old mobo
     
  4. jamesx121

    jamesx121

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    910
    I checked---- your motherboard doesn't have a on-board graphics port---
    some of the latest graphics cards won't display until the graphics driver is installed---
    they don't play nice with the basic driver from Microsoft--
    I would say use the integrated graphics until you have all the drivers installed--
    but you don't have any graphics---
    you haven't said what graphics card you are using ???
     
  5. dustyjay

    dustyjay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    First Name:
    Jay
    The graphics card should work at VGA resolution before the OS and Drivers can be installed. After all how would you be able to install windows without the graphics drivers?

    Please list your complete system specs Including Manufacturer and Model numbers of Power Supply, Video card.
     
  6. replay

    replay

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    5,536
    As mentioned this is not true........what is the make and model of the new graphic card as well as the power supply??
     
  7. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    39,897
    It would help if you posted ALL of your exact system specs; ie mb [already done] exact cpu, exact ram, exact pw supply, etc, etc. Note do not post "500W" post the exact make and model# Do that for all of your parts.

    Next have you read the guide at the top of the hw forum for problem builds? If not, do so. If you follow ALL of the steps, you will find the cause of your problem.

    replay is correct. While I am a big fan of asus mb, the one you have is a pretty low quality. I always say the LE in the part# stands for low end ie it is a budget board.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1148012

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice