1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

new build not starting up

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Sixer, Jul 16, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Sixer

    Sixer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    80
    I've just got new parts for a computer I was building and I put it all together but when I push the power button it turns on for about 3 seconds then shuts off. But then 2 seconds after it tuens back on. It keeps repeating like. What can I do to fix it?
    Specs:
    -CPU: intel i5 3550 3.3ghz
    -MB: asus p8h67
    -RAM: 2x4gb corsair vengeance blue
    -PSU: spire 550w
    -graohics card: nvidia geforce 9600gt
    -HDD: WD 500gb
    -CPU fan: arcic freezer 11 lp
    -case: thermaltake armor a60

    Thanks.
     
  2. dustyjay

    dustyjay Jay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,166
  3. Sixer

    Sixer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    80
    I did what the guide said but it didn't tell me how to fix it.
     
  4. dustyjay

    dustyjay Jay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,166
    Did you try the out of case build? Not an Intel builder myself, but are you certain you have the HSF properly locked down?
     
  5. Sixer

    Sixer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    80
    I've tried the out-of-case build but still no dice.
     
  6. Tanis

    Tanis Shane

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    3,698
    If you have done the 'out of case build' with minimal components then you possibly have a fault PSU, CPU or motherboard.

    First thing to check, do you have the correct BIOS flashed on the board for that CPU? Looking at the Asus website CPU support list here, there are different BIOS versions need dependant on the installed CPU, if you do not have the right version (or later) installed then you can have problems.

    Looking at the components you have listed I would start with the power supply, I don't recognise the make and assume it was a relatively low cost unit. Cheap units are not a good idea, the PSU is somewhere you really shouldn't be cutting costs as every component in the system relies on that one part!

    Is the RAM on the motherboard manufacturers Memory Support List (MSL)? If not, there is a small chance there is a compatibility issue between the RAM and board, although this would be fairly low on list of possibilities.
     
  7. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    32,675
    You must not have followed the guide. Did you miss the part where you swap parts with known good units ie pw supply, mb, cpu, ram???
     
  8. Sixer

    Sixer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    80
    How do I find out which BIOS version I have?

    Also, Its says it's compatible with the Corsair Vengeance 1333GHz but not the 1600GHz. Does 277GHz really make much of a difference?
     
  9. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    32,675
    From your first post, I would suspect either you do not have the hsf installed correctly OR you have a problem with using a low end pw supply. Spire is not a recommended brand.
     
  10. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    32,675
    The bios version needed is 3506 and most likely your board did not ship with that new of a bios. Asus support can tell you what bios version your board shipped with if you call and provide the ser# from the mb box.
     
  11. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    32,675
    You have a LOT of problems here; most likely unsupported cpu/bios, low quality pw supply, ram not on the qvl list.....

    The very first thing you do when attempting a build is check part support before you purchase.
     
  12. black-wolf

    black-wolf

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,820
    The ASUS site says that board supports 32nm cpu's. The 3550 is 22nm. I didn't see anything about a bios update for it to support ivy bridge.
     
  13. Tanis

    Tanis Shane

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    3,698
    The OP's CPU is on the CPU Support list for that board linked below, as long as it has BIOS version 3604 dated 24th May 2012.

    http://uk.asus.com/Motherboards/Intel_Socket_1155/P8H67M/#CPUS

    You like to think Asus know what CPU's their boards support :D :p
     
  14. Sixer

    Sixer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    80
    So how do I fix whatever is wrong with it? Or should I just give it to a computer tech to fix it?
     
  15. black-wolf

    black-wolf

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,820
    You're going to need another 1155 CPU to install temporarily to flash the bios. If you don't have that you need to check with a shop and see if they can do it for you.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1061296