1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New Build problems.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Yeoman1000, Nov 10, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Yeoman1000

Yeoman1000 Thread Starter

Okay, I'm new to building computers, but I took a lot of care when assembling my parts (and used an antistatic wrist strap). I haven't yet installed an OS. First I'll list what components I have:

Intel i5-2500k (with stock cooler).
    Asus P8P67 Intel P67 B3 Revision.

Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 PC3-12800C8 1600MHz Dual Channel
    MSI ATI Radeon HD 6850 Cyclone Power Edition 1024MB GDDR5 PCI-Express Graphics Card

Samsung SH-B123L
    Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB SATA 6Gb/s 32MB Cache

Zalman Z9 plus case (its got four fans, one at the top, one in the rear, one in the front at the bottom, and one in the side)
    Antec HCG 620w

There are four main issues I seem to be having:

(1) CPU overheats (shows 97/70 degrees Celcius)
    (2) On the first 'info' screen at bootup, I get a "Hard disk not detected message"
    (3) PC almost always turns on, turns off, then turns back on again when booting.

(1) Regarding the CPU overheating; I think this is my fault. When I turned it on for the very first time, I hadn't got the cooler in properly, so two of the pins came lose when the fan came on. My impression was this spoilt the spread of the stock paste, and was probably the reason for the same 97 degree C on subsequent boots(after locking the cooler in properly).
    After initially correctly attaching the cooler, I subsequently took it off again, and then put it back on; this seemed to have some effect, and temps where at 65ish, when i got into the BIOS, but would rise into the red after about 60 seconds.