New Built PC Audio Jacks Not Working

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Neonzypher

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 28, 2019
Messages
12
I just built a PC with the help of my friend and I have been trouble shooting this for a while. I can get audio from my graphics card out to my TV that I use as a monitor through an HDMI cable but none of my audio jacks are working on the front or back panel. I just get a slight hum and static sound from the front and nothing from the back.
Here are the specs and parts:
ASUS Prime Z370 -A LGA 1151 (300 Series)
G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 16GB (2x8GB)
MSI GeForce GTX 1060 Direct X 12 GTX 1060 GAMING X 6G 6GB Graphics Card
Intel Core i5-8600K Coffee Lake 6-Core
Windows 10
(Ask if you need to know any other hardware or software.)

I can hear sound through my TV monitor and I can plug headphones into the TV/Monitor but nothing else works. I have Realtek Audio Drivers installed as well.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2003
Messages
5,591
9377731D-C804-4E4D-BCF8-A750BD10E226.jpeg So u are trying to use computer speakers using the green connection on the back I/o and this
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2003
Messages
5,591
U have connected the front panel audio connectors from the case to the mobo?
Are headphones in the list if u scroll up in the audio output?
 

Neonzypher

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 28, 2019
Messages
12
front panel is connected to the mobo. if I scroll up it just shows all of my nvidia ports
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2003
Messages
5,591
right click and check ..Show Disabled Devices and Show Disconnected Devices.
 

Neonzypher

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 28, 2019
Messages
12
The main issue is just that it would seem none of my headphone jacks work on my PC front or back panel and I dont know if that is a hardware issue or something I did wrong during setup
 

Neonzypher

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 28, 2019
Messages
12
Update: If I plug something into back panel it recognizes it but no sound is played even when I set my default audio to the speakers. So my computer literally only plays sound properly through the HDMI to my monitor and nothing else...
 

Neonzypher

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 28, 2019
Messages
12
upload_2019-3-29_19-31-27.png
this is all i have. Are there settings that maybe causing it? When I opened this and played with it I keep getting this:
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top