1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New computer built hard drive with scsi problem

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Mr_Cat_Poop, Apr 25, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Mr_Cat_Poop

    Mr_Cat_Poop Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2001
    Messages:
    20
    :confused:
    My first build: Via Kle-133 mb with Athlon 700 and 64 sdram
    on board video and sound and 9gig Seagate Hard drive needing a scsi-2 thingy

    My problem...
    I power up and all things begin running and on the monitor it whizzes past the first screen that reports the "Award Modular BIOS v6.00pg, An Enery Star Ally etc...
    Main Procecessor: AMD Athlon (TM) 700MHZ
    Memory Testing:57344 ok + 8192k Shared Memory

    Primary Master: None
    Primary Slave: None
    Secondary Master: Toshiba CD_ROM XM-5602B 1796
    Secondary Slave: None

    Floppy disk(s) fail (40)

    Then immediately a black screen which says
    BusLogic Inc BIOS Version 4.94G
    Intelligent Bus Master SCSI Host Adapter
    (c) 1995 BusLogic Inc. All Rights Reserved

    BusLogic PCI SCSI Host Adapter Firware Version 4.28D
    Press <Ctrl-B> to Enter AUTO-SCSI

    Which I do the <Ctrl-B> thing and it takes me to a configuration Utilities and Diagnostics program. I try to push the right buttons
    Under Utilities and under SCSI Device Information it says
    SCSI ID 3: SEAGATE SX910800N
    SCSI ID 7: BusLogic BT-946C
    (which makes no sense since the hd is a Seagate st410800N)
    Under Verify Disk I get the same result

    OK then I try the Format Disk option
    and the same exact result box comes up with SEAGATE SX910800N highlighted... when I press enter, it asks: CONFIRM? yes or no, I highlight yes and enter and then.... a freeze.

    Now if I reboot it will do the same thing every time.
    If I ignor the Press <Ctrl-B> to Enter AUTO-SCSI thing, the puter will go to the BusLogic screen, wait for a few minutes and then go through some kind of report routine telling me what the cpu clock is and whats in the Diskette Drives
    it will say in the middle: PCI device listing...
    Bus No. Device No. Func No. Vendor/Devic Class Device Class IRQ
    7entries follow

    then it will sit on this message:
    Verifying DMI Pool Data.......(for a long time)
    then it will boot up the floppy (which if I have a boot disk it will say: Microsoft Windows 98 Startup Menu
    1. Start computer with CD-Rom Support
    2. Start computer without CD-Rom support.

    enter a choice
    if I choose 2 my puter will inform me:

    This driver is provided by Oak Technology, Inc..
    OTI-91X ATAPI CD-ROM DEVICE DRIVER, Rev d91xv352
    (c)Copyright Oak Technology, Inc. 1987-1997
    Device Name: MSCD001
    No drives found, aborting installlation

    -->ERROR: CARD 0, PORT C800, UNABLE TO DETECT IRQ 11
    AIC-6260/6360/6370 ASPI MANAGER FOR DOS
    Version 3.68s
    copyright 1990-1997 Adaptiec, Inc.

    AIC-78XX/AIC-75XX ASPI MANAGER FOR DOS
    Version 1.32s
    copyright 1994-1997 Adaptiec, Inc.

    PCI bus scan complete

    then it goes into another scan and says
    PCI bus scan complete

    then it says:
    ASPI CD-ROM Driver for DOS
    Version 4.01s
    Copyright 1990-1996 Adaptec, Inc.

    Device driver not found: 'MSCD001'.
    nO VALID cdrom DEVICE DRIVERS SELECTED

    and then I get the

    A:\> prompt

    if i type fdisk it tells me: No fixed disks present.
    if i type format.com it say required parameter missing -

    If I reboot and let the machine go through all of this and I get down to the
    Microsoft Windows 98 Startup Menu
    1. Start computer with CD-Rom Support
    2. Start computer without CD-Rom support.

    enter a choice
    screen

    if I choose 1 my puter will give me the A:\> prompt again with the same results as above.

    whew!!!!

    Anyway, What did I do wrong, how can I fix it, why can't anything ever go right for me. why why oh why waaaaa!
    Mr. Cat Poop
     
  2. Rikku

    Rikku

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    743
    I only ask this because I didn't see it mentioned in the description of your setup - Is your SCSI Hard Drive Terminated correctly??
     
  3. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    Set the SCSI ID for the hard drive to 0 and then try to FDISK
     
  4. Rikku

    Rikku

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    743
    Rockn - just to satisfy my curiousity (and expand my knowledge :) ) -- what does that do??
     
  5. Mr_Cat_Poop

    Mr_Cat_Poop Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2001
    Messages:
    20
    I set the jumpers on the hd to the 0 settings and I terminated it properly. Same stuff as recorded above happens. What is it with this AUTO SCSI ? It doesn't seem to do anything.
     
  6. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    Some SCSI devices will recognize it as a boot device unless it is using ID 0 or 1
     
  7. Slithy Tove

    Slithy Tove Guest

    Rikku- Here's some techno-babble (excerpts) and a pic. It boils down to each SCSI device must have an id and the ID must be unique. Since SCSI devices can be chained the ends of the chain (generally) must be terminated. If you need more go to Seagate's web-site and search on terminate.

     

    Attached Files:

  8. stnwerks

    stnwerks

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    296
    hi everyone!! I noticed something I thought was strange

    Floppy disk(s) fail (40)

    any way thought that was a possibility?
    later Steve
     
  9. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    Prolly knocked the cable loose
     
  10. NSWCLB1

    NSWCLB1

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    On a floppy disk error message, most of the time if you know it is a good floppy then, the cable might not be seated all the way on the back of the floppy.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/77602

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice