new computer or what?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Jeanette1958

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 10, 2004
Messages
5
:confused: :confused: :confused:
I have a desktop computer Compaq Presario and I was wondering would it be better to buy a new one with more memory or just upgrade this one. Because it take forever :mad: :( to download anything. I am upgrading my internet service to cable internet service will that help

Inter(R) celeron(TM) CPU

1200 MHZ
1.20 GHZ
256 MB of RAM

Serial # (monitor) 139CE11VE371
Model # colo564

Hard drive?

Serial# U206JW5ZA233
Issue 0133702713


Jeanette
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2004
Messages
49,014
A new one would be better, but how are you connecting to the internet.

Have you cleaned Temp files, Temp IE files, defrag.

What OS - Are you protected against spyware?

Lots of Q's ............
 

Jeanette1958

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 10, 2004
Messages
5
:confused: :confused: :confused:
I have installed Mircosoft Windows XP Service 2 Pack
Firewall, Norton antivirus.

The internet service is called Comcast DSL Cable interner service

Jeanette
Thank you :)
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2004
Messages
49,014
Before going for a new one....

At that speed can I assume it had something like 98 on it and you installed over it with XP?

You might try backing up the data, and doing a Clean (Format) install of XP.

Are you sure that the DSl connection is not the problem
 

Jeanette1958

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 10, 2004
Messages
5
No I don't think so, I have had SBC DSL before, and it work just fine,but this the first I am using a broad band internet connection in which is supposed to faster than DSL, I hope this is true. How do I back up my file? I didn't do it last time, when I got the virus, and now I starting all over again. I had to see my hard drive out to be fixed, which cost a lot and a long time to fix it.

Jeanette
Thank you
 
Joined
May 3, 2004
Messages
1,544
Jeanette1958 said:
:confused: :confused: :confused:
I have installed Mircosoft Windows XP Service 2 Pack
Firewall, Norton antivirus.

The internet service is called Comcast DSL Cable interner service

Jeanette
Thank you :)
Ok :eek: Comcast does not sell DSL. They are a cable broadband ISP. I have comcast where I live here in Vancouver USA and my connection to the internet is 3MB. My downloads are roughly around 300/kbps. It depends on the download site. If you were downloading SP2 that seemed so slow it depended on how up to date your system was on how large the download was. SP2 could have been as low as 76MB or as high as 200 something. It's been about a 50/50 split om whether people are having problems with SP2. I have downloaded it twice and got rid of it twice and won't bother ever getting it back until The micromen have fixed it. Which means the Longhorn will be out first :eek: :D
 
Joined
May 3, 2004
Messages
1,544
brite750 said:
DSL is broadband, in my area there are two flavors one for $29 and one for $39, the latter is comparable to Roadrunner. the cheaper one is a little slower, if your not using a dialup modem than you have broadband
http://computer.howstuffworks.com/dsl.htm
Ok you're right brite. But there is a big difference between Even the highest DSL speed(about 1.5MB) and Cable(3MB). I have had both but that's just my expeirence in my area. Is it the same in your area or not? :D
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
13,404
Jeanette1958 said:
No I don't think so, I have had SBC DSL before, and it work just fine,but this the first I am using a broad band internet connection in which is supposed to faster than DSL, I hope this is true. How do I back up my file? I didn't do it last time, when I got the virus, and now I starting all over again. I had to see my hard drive out to be fixed, which cost a lot and a long time to fix it.

Jeanette
Thank you
You can backup your files with a CDRW drive if you have one, or another hard drive if you have one, never heard of anyone having their hdd fixed, usually you just replace them, i would think you would be doing regular backups of your important data since it cost you so much to recover before
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
13,404
4steve44 said:
Ok you're right brite. But there is a big difference between Even the highest DSL speed(about 1.5MB) and Cable(3MB). I have had both but that's just my expeirence in my area. Is it the same in your area or not? :D
Must depend on where you are, the people who have the $39 DSL say it's just as fast as RR but i don't know for sure, it's the same price though.
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
13,404
Getting bac to the original question about buying a new pc, I did find my new pc with ob nic was way faster that my older pc with a pci nic
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top