1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New computer should be very fast, but is incredibly slow

Discussion in 'Networking' started by sammyjo06, Aug 13, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sammyjo06

    sammyjo06 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    I just got a new computer, and it's insanely slow loading websites. Sometimes it does not load them at all, and gives me the button I can click on to diagnose connection problems. However, it doesn't find anything when I click the button.

    Anyways, I'm using Windows 7 Home Premium, and I'm on a desktop connecting to a wireless network with a usb card for PCs. I double-checked before buying it to make sure it was compatible with windows 7....And it seems to be working just fine.

    Anyways, when I right-click the connection and click on Status, and then hit the Diagnose button, I get different messages almost every time.

    Here's what I get sometimes:

    Problems found: The default gateway is not available. Fixed.

    Other times, I get:

    Troubleshooting couldn't identify the problem.

    But most of the time, I get:

    Your computer appears to be correctly configured, but the device or resource (DNS server) is not responding[​IMG].

    Any ideas on how to fix this?

    I'm using a 802.11 USB Wireless LAN Card (manufacturer: Ralink Tech.), and I installed the update for it that was recommended in Windows Updates (and my Windows is up-to-date).

    Here are the model numbers I found on the devices that connect me to the wireless network (I know nothing about computers, so sorry, I don't know what they are called): Motorola SURFboard model SB5100 and Linksys WRT54GS.

    Let me know if you need any more info, and any help would be very much appreciated :).
     
  2. daz1

    daz1 Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,664
    1) http://www.speedtest.net/ speed test and ping post back
    2) start type cmd enter type ipconfig /all high light copy/paste back here
    3) start type cmd enter type tracert www.google.co.uk copy/paste etc
    4) start type cmd enter type ping www.google.co.com copy/paste etc
    5) start type cmd enter type ping www.dslreports.com -f -l 1472 copy paste etc

    before no.1 start type cmd right clcik it run as admin type ipconfig /flushdns then
    start type services enter or services.msc scroll to dns client make sure set to auto start
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Please supply the following info, exact make and models of the equipment please.

    Name of your ISP (Internet Service Provider).
    Make and exact model of the broadband modem.
    Make and exact model and hardware version of the router (if a separate unit).
    Make and exact model and hardware version of any other network equipment, like a repeater, a booster, hi-gain antenna, etc.
    Model numbers can usually be obtained from the label on the device.
    Connection type, wired or wireless.
    If wireless, encryption used, (none, WEP, WPA, or WPA2)
    Version and patch level of Windows on all affected machines, i.e. XP (Home or Pro), SP1-SP2-SP3, Vista (Home, Business, Ultimate), etc.
    The Internet Browser in use, IE, Firefox, Opera, etc.




    Please give an exact description of your problem symptoms, including the exact text of any error messages.



    • Have you tried to do a system restore to before the problem occurred?
    • If you're using a wireless connection, have you tried a direct connection with a cable to see if that changes the symptoms?
    • For wireless issues, have you disabled all encryption on the router to see if you can connect that way?
    • For wireless connection issues, have you removed all the stored wireless network profiles and then searched for the network?
    • For wireless laptops, have you made SURE the wireless switch is on?
    • For wired connection issues, have you booted in Safe Mode with Networking to see if that changes the symptoms?
    • Have you connected directly to the broadband modem to see if this is a router or modem/ISP issue?
    • If there are other computers on the same network, are they experiencing the same issue, or do they function normally?





    On any affected computer, I'd also like to see this:

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    Type the following commands on separate lines, following each one with the Enter key:

    PING 74.125.45.100

    PING yahoo.com

    NBTSTAT -n

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  4. sammyjo06

    sammyjo06 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    To daz1:

    -- Okay, this is going to sound weird, but I got a ping of 69 ms, which is good, but it took me about half an hour to even be able to connect so speedtest.net. First time I went there, I dropped connection several times and could not reconnect even when I used the diagnose repair function. Then, I went and unplugged my modem and router, waited a minute and plugged them back in, then I hit the reset button on the router. I came back up and I was able to get to speedtest.net, but it told me to install Adobe Flash Player, and then I kept disconnecting from that site.

    Anyways, long story short is that when I finally was able to connect, speedtest.net came up instantly and I got a good ping, but it took forever to get to that point.

    [​IMG]

    I seem to experience brief periods of high connectvitiy, but get disconnected frequently and experience periods where it says I'm connected to the internet, but pages take minutes to load, require lots of refreshing, or don't load at all.

    --Note: at 2 different points in time, I got higher pings (104 and 344), but when I selected "your results," I got the screen that said it was unable to connect, and click the button to diagnose connection issues. I tried refreshing several times, but was not able to get the code to copy and paste the results.

    Here's the google.uk tracert:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\Sammy>tracert www.google.co.uk
    Tracing route to www.l.google.com [72.14.204.103]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:
    1 163 ms 204 ms 204 ms 192.168.1.1
    2 321 ms 607 ms 613 ms dynamic-acs-24-239-203-1.zoominternet.net [24.23
    9.203.1]
    3 736 ms 921 ms 1433 ms dynamic-acs-24-101-13-50.zoominternet.net [24.10
    1.13.50]
    4 1944 ms 1228 ms 1433 ms static-acs-24-154-0-177.zoominternet.net [24.154
    .0.177]
    5 1251 ms 181 ms 102 ms sl-st20-pit-0-1-3.sprintlink.net [144.228.178.37
    ]
    6 132 ms 102 ms 103 ms sl-bb23-rly-15-0.sprintlink.net [144.232.20.216]
    7 107 ms 208 ms 151 ms sl-crs1-dc-0-2-0-0.sprintlink.net [144.232.25.20
    ]
    8 117 ms 159 ms 78 ms sl-st30-ash-0-1-0-0.sprintlink.net [144.232.19.2
    28]
    9 345 ms * 102 ms 74.125.49.232
    10 54 ms 82 ms 76 ms 216.239.46.248
    11 162 ms 102 ms 76 ms 66.249.94.46
    12 122 ms 98 ms 44 ms iad04s01-in-f103.1e100.net [72.14.204.103]
    Trace complete.
    C:\Users\Sammy>

    Here's the ping to google.co.com:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\Sammy>ping www.google.co.com
    Pinging site238.co.com [216.195.78.32] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 216.195.78.32: bytes=32 time=202ms TTL=49
    Reply from 216.195.78.32: bytes=32 time=224ms TTL=49
    Reply from 216.195.78.32: bytes=32 time=250ms TTL=49
    Reply from 216.195.78.32: bytes=32 time=259ms TTL=49
    Ping statistics for 216.195.78.32:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 202ms, Maximum = 259ms, Average = 233ms
    C:\Users\Sammy>

    Here's the ping to dslreports:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\Sammy>ping www.dslreports.com -f -l 1472
    Pinging www.dslreports.com [209.123.109.175] with 1472 bytes of data:
    Reply from 209.123.109.175: bytes=1472 time=201ms TTL=52
    Reply from 209.123.109.175: bytes=1472 time=220ms TTL=52
    Reply from 209.123.109.175: bytes=1472 time=245ms TTL=52
    Reply from 209.123.109.175: bytes=1472 time=168ms TTL=52
    Ping statistics for 209.123.109.175:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 168ms, Maximum = 245ms, Average = 208ms
    C:\Users\Sammy>

    I flushed the DNS before doing any of this using the cmd prompt as administrator.

    I checked, and the DNS client is set to automatic.

    My ipconfig /all is copy/pasted below in response to John.

    To JohnWill:

    ISP: Armstrong Cable Services.
    Modem: Motorola SURFboard model SB5100
    Router: Linksys WRT54GS
    Wireless USB Card: I can't find any model number directly on the card, but the manufacturer is Ralink Tech., it's an 802.11g USB Wireless LAN Card.
    Security type says WEP, but I didn't set it to that, so I don't know if it needs to be something different.
    Using Windows 7 Home Premium, Internet Explorer 8. As far as I know, everything is completely up to date. I even saw a recommended update for Ralink Tech. (the manufacturer of my wireless usb card), and I installed that, too.

    Some of these might have mixed results, because sometimes I had a brief period of good connectivity, but most of the time doing these I had bad or no connectivity\ (See my response to the above post). Also several times throughout trying to do these ping tests, my computer did not detect any wireless networks at all, so I waited until it could find my network before continuing.

    -- I didn't do a system restore, because it's a brand new computer. Also, how do you do a system restore? The only time I've ever done one was on my laptop when it was having errors, I was prompted to, but I didn't initiate it myself.
    -- I have not tried a direct connection with a cable. I'm not on the same floor as the master computer, and my computer is huge so I'd probably have to get my brother to help me take it downstairs, and I hope it would still work if I unplugged the cable from the main computer on the network. However, my laptop works just fine on the wireless connection in the room I'm in now.
    -- I don't know what disabling the encryption means, so it's probably safe to say I have not tried that.
    -- I just set up the wireless connection yesterday. In the Networking tab, there are no other connections but this one, so I think that would be a "yes" to this question.
    -- All other computers on the network function normally, including the main computer that is connected with a cable downstairs (desktop), both of my brothers' computers (laptops, wireless), my dad's laptop from work (wireless), and my own laptop (wireless).

    Here are 3 different times when I pinged 74.125.45.100:

    C:\Users\Sammy>PING 74.125.45.100
    Pinging 74.125.45.100 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Ping statistics for 74.125.45.100:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),
    C:\Users\Sammy>

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\Sammy>ping 74.125.45.100
    Pinging 74.125.45.100 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 74.125.45.100: bytes=32 time=785ms TTL=53
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 74.125.45.100: bytes=32 time=134ms TTL=53
    Reply from 74.125.45.100: bytes=32 time=48ms TTL=53
    Ping statistics for 74.125.45.100:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 3, Lost = 1 (25% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 48ms, Maximum = 785ms, Average = 322ms
    C:\Users\Sammy>

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\Sammy>ping 74.125.45.100
    Pinging 74.125.45.100 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.1.109: Destination host unreachable.
    Reply from 192.168.1.109: Destination host unreachable.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Ping statistics for 74.125.45.100:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 2, Lost = 2 (50% loss),
    C:\Users\Sammy>

    -- All my pings to yahoo.com said this:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\Sammy>ping yahoo.com
    Ping request could not find host yahoo.com. Please check the name and try again.

    C:\Users\Sammy>

    Here's what came up when I typed in NBTSTAT -n:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\Sammy>NBTSTAT -n
    Local Area Connection 2:
    Node IpAddress: [0.0.0.0] Scope Id: []
    No names in cache
    Wireless Network Connection:
    Node IpAddress: [192.168.1.109] Scope Id: []
    NetBIOS Local Name Table
    Name Type Status
    ---------------------------------------------
    SAMMY-PC <00> UNIQUE Registered
    WORKGROUP <00> GROUP Registered
    SAMMY-PC <20> UNIQUE Registered
    WORKGROUP <1E> GROUP Registered
    WORKGROUP <1D> UNIQUE Registered
    ..__MSBROWSE__.<01> GROUP Registered
    C:\Users\Sammy>
    Here's ipconfig /all:
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Sammy>ipconfig /all
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Sammy-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : zoominternet.net
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : zoominternet.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 802.11 USB Wireless LAN Card
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C8-3A-35-C1-B6-10
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::51ff:19c7:b2ba:6527%14(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.109(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, August 13, 2010 12:47:26 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, August 14, 2010 2:05:26 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 348666421
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-13-EE-0F-5E-00-1B-21-41-CF-1E
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 24.154.1.67
    24.154.1.8
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 6C-F0-49-EE-F6-93
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.zoominternet.net:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : zoominternet.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:14cb:841:e710:3445(Prefe
    rred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::14cb:841:e710:3445%13(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
    C:\Users\Sammy>

    I don't know why it says media disconnected for some of the lines. Nothing is disconnected: I made sure everything was plugged in at 3 different points in time.

    --Also: I cannot figure out how to boot in safe mode with networking. I googled how to do it, and everyone says to press F8 at the startup screen and I tried that several times, but it never booted in safe mode.
    -----------------------
    Anyways, thanks both of you for your responses, and I apologize if this is difficult to read....I tried to format it as best I could.
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You need to hit F8 BEFORE the startup screen, when the machine is still doing the BIOS POST. I just tap it a few times until the selection mode screen comes up.


    I'd like you to run the following test in Safe Mode with Networking connected directly to the modem with the router not in the picture. Remember to power cycle the router when you change the attached device.


    Register at DSLReports and run their Line Quality Tests. It's best to run this test with a direct wired connection to eliminate any wireless issues from the results. It's useful many times to run this test several times, and we'd like to see each of the results. Post the results link from the top of the test display page for each test run here.

    The link to post is near the top of the page and looks like:

    If you wish to post this result to a forum, please copy/paste this URL
    http://www.dslreports.com/linequality/nil/2357195 <- sample only, yours will obviously be different!
    and your IP will be disguised.

    Copy/paste that link here.

    Note: You will have to enable PING (ICMP) request response either in your router (if you have one), or in your computer's firewall for direct modem connections. This is very important to get the most important part of the test to run.


    DSLReports

    Here's also the Line Quality Tests FAQ to help you understand the results. This will answer some questions about the line quality display.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/942706

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice