1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New computer very slow!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by IBeSpyin, Jul 9, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. IBeSpyin

    IBeSpyin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    im going to go get a clean cd today so i can download the dos verison, so ican test the hardrive before i call
     
  2. IBeSpyin

    IBeSpyin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    i tested it and then called, gave them the results and they said the results confirmed their suscpicions... (Faulty hardrive) they are sending me a new hardrive on the warranty... Thanks guys!
     
  3. Triple6

    Triple6 Rob Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    45,578
    Your welcome.

    Do you have the Windows disc and driver discs to reinstall onto the new drive? You can also try cloning over the old drive to the new drive with free software if you want to try that first.
     
  4. IBeSpyin

    IBeSpyin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    they are sending the hardrive with the windows software and drivers already installed. I don't really have anything too important on it... i just have games on steam i downloaded, but they don't take too long to redownload... all the other stuff like projects i will use a flash for
     
  5. Triple6

    Triple6 Rob Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    45,578
    Ok, let us know how it goes when it arrives.
     
  6. IBeSpyin

    IBeSpyin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    The transfer went fine, and after installing the basic drivers its worse than before... Could this be because i dont have the rest installed? I dont know which ones to install from Cyberpowerpc.com ... I noticed that when i opened up google chrome (first thing i did was download it) my CPU usage shot up to 100% for about 3 seconds... I dont know why i thought the hardrive the where sending was pre-loaded with the stuff.
     
  7. Triple6

    Triple6 Rob Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    45,578
    What do you mean after installing the basic drivers? If you do not install the motherboard/chipset and the graphics drivers it will run poorly. Check Device Manager for missing drivers or errors?

    Also, a quick jump to high CPU usage isn't a rare occurrence.
     
  8. IBeSpyin

    IBeSpyin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    i used the motherboard setup disk... i just dont know what other drivers i need to download...also windows is installing updates ... sorry that i'm jumping to conclusions.
     
  9. Triple6

    Triple6 Rob Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    45,578
  10. IBeSpyin

    IBeSpyin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    downloaded the driver, things are slow but they aren't freezing up... anything else that needs done?
     
  11. Triple6

    Triple6 Rob Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    45,578
  12. Snagglegaster

    Snagglegaster Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,906
    It's been a long road to get to where you should have started:) You paid good money for your computer, and you are entitled to support from the manufacturer. If you have problems with the system, you should use Cyberpower support as your first resource. If you aren't satisfied with their response, get back to us.
     
  13. IBeSpyin

    IBeSpyin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Ok downloaded those and all the windows updates... *KNOCK ON WOOD* Its better havn't been having the problems YET... anything else i need to do?
     
  14. Triple6

    Triple6 Rob Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    45,578
    Any errors listed in Device Manager? Are all the Microsoft Updates installed?
     
  15. IBeSpyin

    IBeSpyin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    No errors in device manager, i think im still installing updates. I wont be able to use it for the next week so thats why i wont be responding. Once i get back ill install all the updates
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1060303