1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New computer will not connect with Comcast modem

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Gorkman, Apr 29, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Gorkman

    Gorkman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    A total non-tech guy here. Have old Dell desktop connected to Comcast modem (ARRIS TM502G). When Comcast set it up they used USB connection rather than ethernet. Recently bought new Dell desktop and Netgear wireless router. Tried setting new computer/router up to modem. Router is looking for a static IP address, but Comcast says I am set up for dynamic. Finally gave up on setting up router and have just been trying to get new computer to connect. Feel like if I can get computer to connect I can get the router set up. So I don't even mention router to Comcast anymore. After telling me mulitple times how to power cycle everything, and me doing so 57,000 times :eek:, they blamed Windows 7 and told me to call Microsoft. Instead I hired a tech guy to come help. He had no luck at my house so took the new machine home with him, and instantly connected to internet with his Comcast modem. So he brings it back and says it's on Comcast's end. Getting nowhere with Comcast. I explained (mulitple times) that it's connecting on the tech guys modem but they continue to say the computer is not set up correctly but have yet to help me out. I asked for a Comcast tech to come take care of it but they say they will but if it's not a Comcast issue I will have to pay for tech visit. I wouldn't know enough to know if it was a Comcast issue or not so would have to take his word - so not excited about this prospect. Again, have power cycled everything every different way possible. I have a laptop from work that won't connect to 'net on this modem either. The only one that connects is the old desktop. Have even tried connecting new machine to modem using USB rather than ethernet. Old computer will not connect using ethernet, only USB. Found something about MAC addresses online and tried to clone old desktops MAC to the new router with no luck. Looking for ideas to try myself or guidance on what to ask Comcast if I do call them back. Am considering just switching to AT&T U-verse just thinking that they would come set the whole thing up for me and I wouldn't have to deal with Comcast anymore. Sorry to be so wordy. Appreciate any help!
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,854
    Lets do this a bit at a time ?

    Arris user manual online here http://www.ono.es/resources/files/a...B/Manual del Fabricante/TM502 Users Guide.pdf

    how does the desktop connect to the modem, using the USB or the Ethernet connection
    can we see an ipconfig /all from the desktop when connected and working

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. Gorkman

    Gorkman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    As mentioned in original post the OLD computer is connected to the modem via USB. This is how Comcast set it up originally. I cannot get old computer to connect using ethernet, only USB.

    Here are results of ipconfig on NEW computer:


    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : FamilyPC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.in.comcast.net.
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : DW1501 Wireless-N WLAN Half-Mini Card
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 90-00-4E-77-5F-04
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 78-2B-CB-91-EB-00
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{D2317778-77F3-4FCC-A8C8-2A0A9AD2FCA8}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.hsd1.in.comcast.net.:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes


    Here are ipconfig results from OLD computer:


    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : D1PRZ851
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.in.comcast.net.

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-11-06-28-99

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 3:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.in.comcast.net.
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : ARRIS TOUCHSTONE DEVICE
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-15-A3-7D-8D-33
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 98.214.84.127
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.240.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 98.214.80.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.87.72.19
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.87.72.134
    68.87.77.134
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, May 05, 2011 3:10:52 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, May 09, 2011 8:59:40 AM


    To be clear - the OLD computer was connected to modem via USB for above results, and NEW computer was not connected to anything for those results.

    THANKS!!!
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,506
    Unplug modem.
    Disconnect USB cable.
    Connect modem to computer by ethernet.
    Plug in modem.
    Boot computer.
    Show ipconfig /all.
     
  5. Gorkman

    Gorkman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    TerryNet, thanks for the reply. Here is the ipconfig that you asked for...


    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : FamilyPC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.in.comcast.net.
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : DW1501 Wireless-N WLAN Half-Mini Card
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 90-00-4E-77-5F-04
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 78-2B-CB-91-EB-00
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::80ec:1b25:2f14:1e4b%11(Preferred)
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.30.75(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 242756555
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-15-26-F7-22-78-2B-CB-91-EB-00
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{D2317778-77F3-4FCC-A8C8-2A0A9AD2FCA8}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.hsd1.in.comcast.net.:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  6. srhoades

    srhoades

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,271
    Why won't the old computer connect ethernet? It neither computer will connect ethernet to the modem it sounds like a bad modem.
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,854
    here is a manual for the device
    http://www.arrisi.com/support/guides/_docs/TM502_User_Guide.pdf

    the above was connected with a USB Cable correct ?

    what happens if you connect the new PC to the modem by USB and have you installed the USB drivers on the NEW PC - drivers are here http://www.arrisi.com/support/usb/index.asp

    if you connect by the ethernet connector - do you get the link light to light up on the modem
    page 21

     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,506
    Most likely a defective modem ethernet port. Also possibly a defective ethernet cable or ethernet adapter.

    Yet another possibility: at one time with my cable service any time I switched from using the modem's USB to ethernet or vice versa I had to re-register. Not sure if it was because the modem looked different to them or if it was because they tracked the device connected to the modem and that had to be registered. I know they don't do the latter now because I switch routers; don't know if they do the former, as I haven't used USB in half a dozen years.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/994003