1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New computer

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Hanibal, Jan 14, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Hanibal

Hanibal Thread Starter

greetings folks

i would love to have a second third ,ect opinion regarding the purchase of a computer.

i work in the industry, as a comp technician. and i am a hard core gamer. obviously the social aspects have to suffer :)

i most likely will be getting a P4. even though AMD's are cheaper. i am going for reliability and stability, and no fried cpu over cheaper :)

my questions are :

1) am thinking of either a P4 1.9ghz or the new 2ghz with 512 L2 cash.

2) amount of memory some Os use memory better then others. for instances having more then 256 RAM on a 9x Os kind of a waste.
    i will be runing either Win 2k or Win98 ( i rather sleep with a troll then have Me installed :) )

am thinking between 512 RAM or 748RAM

3) video card wise am considering a gforce3 Ti200 64 ram.

4) am getting a regular CDROM none of that DVD, RW stuff.

5) SB live 5.1 and standard speakers

6) microsoft optical mouse, regular keyboard, 40 gig maxtor hard drive, flopy and a dlink nic card ( for DSL)

if you guys care to throw in a few suggestions i would apreciate it. investing in a machine is a big thing for me and i like to share it with you guys.

as a final note, even though am in the business, the last thing i need is to worry about my personnal system. i deal with enough at work. i am looking for stability, reliability. am not much into overclocking and such.

2. angel

angel