new cpu running slow

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

qcity

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
79
I just installed a new amd 1.4 gig 200 mhz cpu in a home built k7vat motherboard with via kt-133 chipset.
The problem is the pc recognises it as a 1.05 processer .there is a jumper on the mb to overclock but I left it so it runs at actual processer speed.
I thought maybe my pc didn't recognise chip so I ran pcpitstop & it says I have a 1.05 processer also.
Any help appreciated.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
Your multiplier is set wrong. Look at the manual for the jumper or dip switch settings
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1999
Messages
12,041
You sure you have the 200 version, apparently it's running 10.5 x 100 for 1.05gig. If it's wants the 10.5 multiplier and it's not unlocked it's looking for a 133 front side bus speed to acheive the desired 1.4gig 10.5 x 133 = 1400, or in other words the 266 mhz mode.

If the last letter of the id number is a B it is 100 mhz front side bus, if it's a C it's a 133 mhz front side bus
 

qcity

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
79
I set dip switch to 133mhz & it wouldn't boot so I assume it's 200.
The highest multiplier I have is 12.5 so would 1.25 be my limit ?.I have to get a jumper to use this because it is supposed to run actual processer speed with out jumper.
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1999
Messages
12,041
apparently your motherboard only supports processors up to 1.2gig. Didn't see a bios flash for it. It is a 200 mhz motherboard
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
The manuals I have looked at state that the processor clock runs at 100/133MHz
 

qcity

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
79
I overclocked it to the multiplier of 12.5 & am now running 1.3 gig on a board that's rated 1.2 so next time I'll read the manual before I but..act in haste repent at leisure.Thanks people:)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top