1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New custom computer turns off immediately

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Unopis, Oct 15, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Unopis

Unopis Thread Starter

I just made a custom computer by ordering all the parts off of Newegg, and as soon as I turn it on, a light left from the power button flashes green, and another light right of the power button flashes orange, and then it just turns off completely. This is my first time ever building a computer, so I have no idea what's wrong here.

Any help would be appreciated. :)

2. crjdriver

crjdriver Moderator

First of all, you need to list the exact specs; ie make and model of mb, brand and speed of ram, brand and wattage of pw supply, etc, etc, etc.

Post links to the newegg parts you purchased.

3. Unopis

Unopis Thread Starter

4. frankjohn

frankjohn

Do a out of case test> 1 stick of ram> cpu and heatsink> cpu fan> video hooked up to monitor> keyboard. It is possible your board is shorting to the case? did you use standoffs? chech all your connections.

5. crjdriver

crjdriver Moderator

Just from looking at your list of parts, one thing jumps out at me; raidmax case and pw supply. While raidmax cases are ok, the pw supply is junk. There is no other way to put it; raidmax pw supplies are worse than useless.

Next have you read and followed the guide at the top of the forum for troubleshooting problem builds?

6. Unopis

Unopis Thread Starter

I did use standoffs and I'm fairly certain I connected the wires correctly. Though, there does seem to be a lot of loose wires around the case that don't connect anywhere. Is this normal? Like, cables from the power supply. There seems to be quite a few of those that just don't seem to go anywhere.