1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved new Dell Inspiron 15 5000 Touchscreen Laptop Nightmare!!

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by hisbeauty4ashes, Jan 16, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hisbeauty4ashes

    hisbeauty4ashes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,474
    Hi all my friend bought me a brand new Dell Inspiron 15 5000 Touchscreen Laptop 12 gigs memory Core I 5. I just got it last night. I set it up and that was it. Now I turned it on today and it has been black screen for the last 10 min. I noticed last night it gets hot on the bottom of the laptop when it is on my lap and it is loud. Good Lord I thought Dell was a good company and now paying almost $700 it is crap!! Can someone help me get passed this black screen????

    Thanks
     
  2. hisbeauty4ashes

    hisbeauty4ashes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,474
    Okay I finally got the laptop running but now it wont except the wifi password. HELP!
     
  3. hisbeauty4ashes

    hisbeauty4ashes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,474
    Okay dealt with that. It is slow and loud. Okay so I am running updates right now. How do I check to see if the bios is up to date?
     
  4. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,998
    First Name:
    Allan
    When you switch it on it should show what key to press to get into the Bios at the bottom of the screen,it might use the word Setup rather than Bios.
    It's usually F2 for Dell laptops. The Bios version will be shown in the Bios.

    Updating a Bios does entail some risk. If you post the Service Tag, it should be on label underneath and/or in the Bios, we can use that to help with the Bios update.
     
  5. hisbeauty4ashes

    hisbeauty4ashes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,474
    Okay it was up to date. Now I have another issue. I cannot believe these issues with a brand new computer. The CPU is running 100% it runs hot it says Google is taking all the juice. It did that as soon as I set it up though too. This is strange.. Can someone help me figure this out. New computer should not be having all these issues. This is a brand New Dell. My goodness what gives!
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2019
  6. texasbullet

    texasbullet

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    2,552
    First Name:
    Ramon
    If it is brand new contact Dell Support for repair. Your computer may be defective.
     
  7. sivartk

    sivartk

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    First Name:
    Travis
    If it has a 1TB hard drive (I.e. spinning drive) the first setup will take forever...I bought mine (like the one you mention...sans touchscreen, my exact model is Dell 15 model 5570) and it took a good 45 minutes to do the initial setup and 3-4 minutes to boot. I put in an NVMe drive and it works great. There is an M.2 slot in addition to the SATA drive and you can have both at the same time (see screenshot below).

    upload_2019-1-20_11-40-6.png

    At a minimum I'd put in an SSD, but you might want to upgrade the RAM while you're in there, too. Here is a video that shows how to do it:
     
  8. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,998
    First Name:
    Allan
  9. hisbeauty4ashes

    hisbeauty4ashes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,474
    Service Tag DDFXXR2

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Home, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-8250U CPU @ 1.60GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 142 Stepping 10
    Processor Count: 8
    RAM: 12185 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) UHD Graphics 620, 1024 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: 916 GB (865 GB Free);
    Motherboard: Dell Inc., 09YTN7
    Antivirus: Windows Defender, Disabled
     
  10. snuffleufflegus

    snuffleufflegus

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    443
    First of all.."Keep it off your lap".Some laptops have vents on the bottom to circulate air to the cpu so that it does not over heat.You may be restricting airflow if your leg is covering the vent.I keep mine on a 9x12 bread rack.It sit's 1 inch off the table,giving it room to breathe.Restricting air can cause your cpu to over heat and fry your motherboard.
    This is a new computer.It will take time to set up.Usually the first initial setup means it also has to update.So im sure auto-updates is running in the background among other things.let it set for a while.check the cpu usage every so often.
    Google chrome is the most cpu intensive browser.Firefox i find is more cpu friendly.
    "Sivartk"..upgrade the ram???? 12 gigs is plenty sufficient i would say.More then enough unless of course they are into gaming.
    On the downside..the cpu is only 1.60ghz....enough said.
     
  11. sivartk

    sivartk

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    First Name:
    Travis
    Oops, I missed that in the OP's original post. I have a computer just like it (sans touchscreen) and it came with 8GB of RAM and the slow 1TB drive. Since these are such a pain to take apart and upgrade, that is why I suggested upgrading the RAM while you have it open. I upgraded mine to 16GB just to future proof since I keep my laptops 5-8 years, plus I wanted to run dual channel.

    For what I use my laptop for (mainly surfing the web, light office work and the occasional Blu-ray / DVD rip), the i5-8250u is sufficient, plus it will Turbo to 3.4GHz
     
  12. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,998
    First Name:
    Allan
  13. hisbeauty4ashes

    hisbeauty4ashes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,474
    What s happening is that the cpu jumps way up high. I keep trying to illuminate things. Now I am getting rid of the Mcafee Antivirus because it was high on the cpu chart.
     
  14. sivartk

    sivartk

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    First Name:
    Travis
    That is a good plan of attack. I remember mine taking forever on the spinning hard drive to boot / finish the initial install. I installed an M.2 NVMe so I re-installed from a clean (aka no bloatware) version of Windows 10. I'd call Dell if after several days the CPU is just running constantly at over 90%
     
  15. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,635
    First Name:
    James
    You may want to look at using the Dell Driver update as it will update the components can help with the processes, etc.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1221981

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice