1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

new ethernet card ???

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by jamesx121, Apr 28, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jamesx121

    jamesx121 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    910
    for the last few days surfing the web would just quit.
    the busy signal would just keep going around
    and around
    if I checked my Internet connection ---- it
    would say i,m connected.
    but
    if I pull the cable out of the rj45 port on my computer
    and put it right back in I would have Internet
    for a few hours or a day.
    I only have 1 rj45 port on my computer.
    Do I need to buy a ethernet pci-e card.
    also
    does it make a difference on which one ????
    a 10 dollar card.
    or a gigabyte 1000 card.
    should I buy one made by Intel.
    have Intel based asus mobo.
    running windows 7 64 bit home premium.
    James
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,355
    First Name:
    Wayne
    it maybe a software error
    have you updated the driver for the Ethernet card ?
    also try
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Uninstall and allow windows to re-install the adapter and Driver
    goto the device manager > Network Adapters > click on the [+] to show all the adapters

    right click on the adapter and from the menu

    remove/uninstall the adapter

    Now restart the pc and allow windows to detect new hardware and re install the adapter and the driver
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. jamesx121

    jamesx121 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    910
    right now all I got is the adapter / I/O port on the back
    of the asus mobo.
    was wondering if I should buy a pci card.
    will remove the intel driver in the morning.
    see what happens.
    for some reason Device Manager shows 2 drivers
    even though I only have 1 port
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,355
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can we see a screenshot please
     
  5. jamesx121

    jamesx121 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    910
    here is the screen shot---
    I thought I remember something about Intel Pro gigabit something
    but only thing showing is Intel 82579V Gigabit Connection
    & couple of Bluetooth connections--

    will look at Intel's site for the 82579V
     

    Attached Files:

  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,355
    First Name:
    Wayne
  7. jamesx121

    jamesx121 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    910
    Asus p8z68 V pro / Gen 3
    home built
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,355
    First Name:
    Wayne
    i would re-install the driver - from the motherboard website
    and do the uninstall I posted - make sure it uses the latest driver
     
  9. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    What are you connecting to?
    And who is you internet provider?
     
  10. jamesx121

    jamesx121 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    910
    A router
    Comcaat
     
  11. replay

    replay

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    5,536
    Try without the router connected.....see if any change
     
  12. jamesx121

    jamesx121 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    910
    I can't::::
    have Comcast's Gateway all in one.
    it's stupid but Comcast went to this hard back
    book looking thing---
    Modem, router, and phone is all out one device.
    I just left the store with new Cat 6 cable.
    will try that until friday. See what happens.
    if acts up will see about a pci card.
    would a usb 3.0 to rj45 dongel cable be better.
    my mobo has 3.0 usb ports.
    James
     
  13. jamesx121

    jamesx121 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    910
    What's up with Intel drivers anyway.
    asus has a release for this year but
    after this the Intel wizard ran. Said I'd finished
    succesfully.
    checked device manager---- still shows
    the old diver number.
     
  14. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,355
    First Name:
    Wayne
    did you do as suggested in post #2 and #8 ?
     
  15. jamesx121

    jamesx121 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    910
    yes I did, last night---
    but I figured out why its still showing the old number---
    the update from Asus was for a subsection of my Network Adapter----
    was looking all through properties---
    the main driver page for properties (network adapter) shows V12.2.45.0
    but looking under the advanced tab saw another driver tab---
    this one was the one that got updated to V17.3.0.0.
    I wish asus would give more information on exactly what they are updating.
    weird that my onboard network adapter has two serperate drivers---
    James
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1147424

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice