1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New Gateway notebook won't stay connected to wi fi. Signs xbox live out when I try.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Jbizzle, Jan 2, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jbizzle

    Jbizzle Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    I just got a new Gateway Ne series notebook for Christmas. Everytime I try to connect it wirelessly it will sign out my son and boyfriend from xbox live. It will connect if I connect before they have used their xbox's. But usually once they sign in it will say limited conectivity. I have comcast internet an Arris modem and Linskys router. I called the cable company and they said I have enough speed and wanted to charge me to check the router settings. The only thing I have made changes to is about a year ago I changed the channel in the router because when we moved in our new place the Wii wouldn't connect only the xbox 360's. So I changed a channel in the router settings to get it to work. Not sure if that could be the problem. I would appreciate any help. I want to make sure this isn't something simple to fix before I take the notebook back for a refund. I called Gateway support and they had me reset the computer and reinstall a driver which did not help.
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,616
    First Name:
    Wayne
    what windows version

    can we see an ipconfig /all and an xirrus screen shot

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    This should also work for windows 8
    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and install the program.
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://info.xirrus.com/Wi-FiInspectorConfirmation.html

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
    On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-inspectorguide-1-2-1-RevB-6.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running.
    if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

    post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)

    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    OR
    2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
    note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/

    if you want to optimise base station position and signal strength / dead spots use
    http://www.chimoosoft.com/products/apgrapher/ which has a graph function to monitor signal
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. Jbizzle

    Jbizzle Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    The Pc I have the modem and router conected to is windows xp. The new notebook is windows 8. Do I need to post the stuff you need from the main pc or the notebook I'm having the issues with.
     
  5. Jbizzle

    Jbizzle Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    I read your post entirely and I see you mean from the notebook now. Give me a second my boyfriend is really far on his game and I don't want to sign him out. Soon as he dies I will send you what you asked for. But as soon as I turn it on it will sign him out.
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,616
    First Name:
    Wayne
  7. Jbizzle

    Jbizzle Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : JBizzle
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.va.comcast.net.
    Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 12:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Wi-Fi Direct Virtual Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 20-68-9D-AD-CA-FD
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Wireless LAN adapter Wi-Fi:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.va.comcast.net.
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8188CE Wireless LAN 802.11n PCI-E NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 20-68-9D-AD-CA-FD
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::34fa:b5b2:d439:3e66%16(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.107(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, January 2, 2013 3:26:58 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, January 3, 2013 3:26:57 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 220227741
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-18-25-E1-55-B8-88-E3-D4-56-C9
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 75.75.75.75
    75.75.76.76
    192.168.1.1
    75.75.75.75
    75.75.76.76
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Ethernet adapter Ethernet:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : B8-88-E3-D4-56-C9
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.hsd1.va.comcast.net.:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.va.comcast.net.
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:6ab8:3880:3d14:b831:764d(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3880:3d14:b831:764d%18(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,616
    First Name:
    Wayne
    that looks OK and not using a fixed IP - which would be a problem

    it maybe worth updating the wireless driver - whats the exact model of the gateway pc
     
  9. Jbizzle

    Jbizzle Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    my network is monitored access.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,616
    First Name:
    Wayne
    theres quite a lot of wireless on channel 1 - can we see the full list

     
  11. Jbizzle

    Jbizzle Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    model NE56R31u
     

    Attached Files:

  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,616
    First Name:
    Wayne
  13. Jbizzle

    Jbizzle Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Do I need to update the driver as well or is that what the download is?
     
  14. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,616
    First Name:
    Wayne
    yes download the driver and then extract the file onto the pc some where and then run the setup program
     
  15. Jbizzle

    Jbizzle Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    changing the channel just made it worse and the regular pc started getting come and go connection. I downloaded the file you said all that happened was a file folder popped up showing it. I am not familiar with windows 8. The red light is still on on the front of the computer that shows internet connection.
     
  16. Jbizzle

    Jbizzle Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    The lan driver says Broadcom not realteck does that matter?
     
  17. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1083420

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice