1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New gpu, runs great other than random shut offs

Discussion in 'Games' started by oneSorcerer, Dec 19, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. oneSorcerer

    oneSorcerer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    238
    Hi gang, I just got a used gtx 970 4gb from a friend who has used it without issue for around a year. I was concerned my ASUS Sabertooth 990fx mobo would be incompatible with it since there haven't been bios updates for it for years, but it seems to run great.

    However occasionally it will just shut off. Maybe 3 times in 4 or 5 days of gaming, and the odd part is that it's always at a change of scene, like leaving a building in Fallout 76, or finishing a race in Forza Horizon 4. It's not a heat issue as the card never goes much past 70C. I have a fairly new corsair cx 750 psu which was previously powering my gtx770 (which I believe has a higher tdw).

    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro, 64 bit
    Processor: AMD FX(tm)-8150 Eight-Core Processor, AMD64 Family 21 Model 1 Stepping 2
    Processor Count: 8
    RAM: 8137 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970, -1 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: 118 GB (68 GB Free); D: 931 GB (112 GB Free); E: 1397 GB (578 GB Free); F: 931 GB (109 GB Free);
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC., SABERTOOTH 990FX
    Antivirus: Windows Defender, Enabled and Updated

    I don't know why the gfx card reads -1Mb in this SysInfo utility, but it shows 4GB everywhere else.

    Any insights/ideas appreciated.
     
  2. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,696
    More detail is needed - what exactly happens
    Do you then have to reboot
    Is there any error message recorded in Event Viewer
    Does the screen go blank
    Does the computer shut down or only the image on the monitor disappears

    Which GTX 970 is it please I know you said 4GB but what is the make and exact model
     
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,984
    First Name:
    Frank
    Clipboard.jpg

    Corsair CX750
    Capture.JPG

    These are the listed specs for the processor and graphic card and power supply.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. oneSorcerer

    oneSorcerer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    238
    No after it shuts off, I push the power button and it boots as normal.

    The only critical events in eventviewer are: http://prntscr.com/lxpr7z

    It's an MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4GB
     
  5. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,984
    First Name:
    Frank
    I'm guessing the problem is with the power supply.

    The "CX" series is designed for basic use and is not designed for the demands of gaming.

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. oneSorcerer

    oneSorcerer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    238
    Yeah seeing that is unfortunate. Oh well, I got all these parts for free. Will using it for lighter pc stuff like internet and simpler games hurt anything? I've been playing most games without problems, the issue is few and far-between.
     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2018
  7. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,696
    The -1MB reading on the system information utility is nothing to worry about the information utility cannot read the VRAM on the card

    So now we know that the whole system shuts down, lets see if we can find the reason why
    1. Does it Blue Screen with stop message if so I need the dump file
    2. If it does not BSOD then send me please the full event viewer record from which you have attached just the main part of the entry
    DO NOT please attach it as something I have to open
    Click details tab
    COPY and paste it to reply
     
  8. oneSorcerer

    oneSorcerer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    238
    Does not BSOD. Event viewer log:

    Log Name: System
    Source: Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-Power
    Date: 12/22/2018 2:39:31 AM
    Event ID: 41
    Task Category: (63)
    Level: Critical
    Keywords: (70368744177664),(2)
    User: SYSTEM
    Computer: RS-Serenity
    Description:
    The system has rebooted without cleanly shutting down first. This error could be caused if the system stopped responding, crashed, or lost power unexpectedly.
    Event Xml:
    <Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
    <System>
    <Provider Name="Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-Power" Guid="{331C3B3A-2005-44C2-AC5E-77220C37D6B4}" />
    <EventID>41</EventID>
    <Version>6</Version>
    <Level>1</Level>
    <Task>63</Task>
    <Opcode>0</Opcode>
    <Keywords>0x8000400000000002</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2018-12-22T07:39:31.689755500Z" />
    <EventRecordID>9845</EventRecordID>
    <Correlation />
    <Execution ProcessID="4" ThreadID="8" />
    <Channel>System</Channel>
    <Computer>RS-Serenity</Computer>
    <Security UserID="S-1-5-18" />
    </System>
    <EventData>
    <Data Name="BugcheckCode">0</Data>
    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter1">0x0</Data>
    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter2">0x0</Data>
    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter3">0x0</Data>
    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter4">0x0</Data>
    <Data Name="SleepInProgress">0</Data>
    <Data Name="PowerButtonTimestamp">0</Data>
    <Data Name="BootAppStatus">0</Data>
    <Data Name="Checkpoint">0</Data>
    <Data Name="ConnectedStandbyInProgress">false</Data>
    <Data Name="SystemSleepTransitionsToOn">0</Data>
    <Data Name="CsEntryScenarioInstanceId">0</Data>
    <Data Name="BugcheckInfoFromEFI">false</Data>
    <Data Name="CheckpointStatus">0</Data>
    </EventData>
    </Event>
     
  9. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,696
    It may well be the PSU as mentioned by my colleague, despite the power consumption on the 970 being shown by MSI as 145W and the power on the 770 (although you do not say which one) being shown as 230- it is the constant demand when gaming that MAY just be too much for the PSU

    The MSI card has a 8 pin and a 6pin power connection I take it you have these connected from the Corsair, which I think provides such

    However as the issue you say is few and far between one MAY tend to think it is something other than the PSU

    That is NOT to say that the CX is meant for gaming< It is not as indeed Corsair themselves say
    CX750 PSUs deliver the power needed for medium specification home or office PCs that do not have high numbers of components, while also offering high energy efficiency and low noise.

    The BIOS on your board commenced with 0402 in 2011 and the latest BIOS for you is 1604
    However that in itself is 2012
    https://www.asus.com/Motherboards/SABERTOOTH_990FX/HelpDesk_Download/

    I doubt it will solve the problem, but as most BIOS updates have been issued for improved system stability if your is back down the list I would most certainly consider a BIOS flash

    HOWEVER before doing the system BIOS flash I would update the firmware on the 970 card
    https://www.msi.com/Graphics-card/support/GTX-970-GAMING-4G#down-driver&Win10 64

    MSI LIVE Update 6 under utility tab
    MSI Live Update 6
    Version
    6.2.0.49
    Release Date
    2018-12-18
    File Size
    21.2 MB
    NOTE procedural warnings

    Please do the MSI update if you have not and report how things are then
     
  10. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,696
  11. oneSorcerer

    oneSorcerer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    238
    MSI Live update reported that I have the most recent bios and drivers. I am on bios 1604 on my mobo as well. The corsair has two sets of 6+2-pin pci-e plugs (4 plugs total) They all come from the same place (psu is not modular) and otherwise look identical. The old gpu was an EVGA gtx770 2gb SC (superclock), which also took an 8 and 6 pin, and I never had any issues with it even though it has a 230w+ tdw.

    I suppose if it's not made for gaming it's not made for gaming /shrug I'll live with it for a bit till I can replace.

    This is probably a terrible idea, but would setting the voltage up in MSI afterburner (even just like 1%) guarantee it power better or something? Just grasping at straws now haha.

    I played the Middle Earth: Shadow of Mordor game for like 8+ hours throughout the day yesterday and no issues, so it is puzzling. Direct X 12 related maybe?
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2018
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - runs great random
  1. slimzaidie
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    185
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1220696

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice