New Graphics Card has a PCIe slot

TheMetalKing

I'm fairly new to PC Gaming and a little clueless when it comes to PC's, i bought a cheapish PC recently. I decided to buy a new Graphics Card, i noticed it has 8 slots which i found out is for putting a PCIe Cable into. But my PC doesn't have one of those. I know you can buy them online for fairly cheap. But i noticed on the pictures i could slot it into the Graphics card just fine, but i can't see where i'd slot the other two wires, i was looking inside the PC and noticed that there doesn't appear to be a slot for it.
The power thing i use is 500W Builder.

cwwozniak

Chuck
Hi, and welcome to TSG.

it has 8 slots which i found out is for putting a PCIe Cable into
Do you mean it has a single connector body with two rows of 4 contacts? If so, you are probably looking at the 12VDC power connector for the graphics card. The card needs more power than is available through the PCIe slot on the motherboard that is holding the graphics card.

The power thing i use is 500W Builder.
You need to figure out if the Power Supply Unit (PSU) has enough power to operate all of the existing hardware in the computer plus the new graphics card. You would need to add up all of the current demands for all the voltages used by the motherboard, drives, graphics card, and other hardware. Then make sure your PSU can easily meet those demands with some current to spare. An older PSU would definitely have 4-pin Molex connectors to power older Non-SATA optical and hard drives. You would use two such unused connectors on the PSU to power your graphics card with an adapted cable like the one in this Amazon link.

https://www.amazon.com/Cable-Matters-2-Pack-8-Pin-Inches/dp/B01DV1Z428

TheMetalKing

Hi, and welcome to TSG.