new hard disk format?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

okeee

Thread Starter
Joined
May 14, 2006
Messages
720
about HD (WD 750 GB caviar green)
I just bought this new from a store. Should I format it before use? I also want to make a partition on it, what would be the best way (win xp is already installed on another hard drive)? And should I format again after partitioning?
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,630
If you want to use the drive, you must partition and format. Do the following;
1 Shutdown the system and open the case
2 Determine where you are going to install the drive and do so. Connect sata and pw connectors
3 PW ON the system and let windows boot.
4 Go to disk management Start>run and type in "diskmgmt.msc" without quotes and hit enter
5 Your new drive should be listed and shown as unallocated. Right click on the unallocated space and choose to create partition. Accept the defaults unless you want more than one partition on the drive. Once done with that, again right click on the partitioned space and choose to format. Since this is a new drive, you can select quick format if you want. It will save a lot of time however a quick format does not check the drive so it is up to you.

When you are done, you can restart your system and the drive will be given the next available drive letter.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,630
BTW I assume you have checked and your system/mb does in fact support a large drive.
 

okeee

Thread Starter
Joined
May 14, 2006
Messages
720
Well no, I haven't read anything about it in the manual. I didn't know some motherboards don't support large hard drives.
But the components are quite new: Intel core 2 duo e8400, Corsair XMS2 - 4 GB ( 2 x 2 GB ) - DIMM 240-pins - DDR2 -
1066 MHz / PC2-8500 - CL5 - 2.1 V, win xp.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,630
Well no, I haven't read anything about it in the manual. I didn't know some motherboards don't support large hard drives.
But the components are quite new: Intel core 2 duo e8400, Corsair XMS2 - 4 GB ( 2 x 2 GB ) - DIMM 240-pins - DDR2 -
1066 MHz / PC2-8500 - CL5 - 2.1 V, win xp.
That should be no problem.
 

okeee

Thread Starter
Joined
May 14, 2006
Messages
720
In disk management, there are some options that I don't know. For creating a partition, what should be the cluster size? And should file and folder compression be enabled?
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,630
Just accept the defaults; leave the cluster size to whatever it is now and do not enable compression.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top