1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New hard drive, full capacity not available

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Alleyoop11, Feb 13, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Alleyoop11

    Alleyoop11 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Hi I purchased a new 3 tb hard drive and fitted it to my XP desktop machine. I initialized it ok but it only shows as a 745 gb drive. How do I access it properly for full capacity?
     
  2. Laz123

    Laz123 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    204
    What procedure did you partition and format it?
     
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,501
    First Name:
    Frank
    You didn't say how old that Windows XP desktop is, so the BIOS may be too old and has a hard drive capacity limit.

    ----------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. Alleyoop11

    Alleyoop11 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    My method was to go to Computer Management, Disk Management & right click on the Disk to format, using the Wizard. The maximum limit was 746 Gb.

    The computer is about 5 or 6 years old, the motherboard is an Asus P7P55LX. How would I check that setting in the Bios?
     
  5. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,501
    First Name:
    Frank
    I'm not exactly sure what you did.

    Did you install a 3 TB hard drive and then install Windows XP in it?

    Is the 3 TB hard drive an additional hard drive to another hard drive that already has Windows XP installed?

    ---------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. Alleyoop11

    Alleyoop11 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Oh no, sorry, I have XP installed on a separate boot drive, in fact I have 2 XP OS on that drive and I did have 3 x 1 Tb data drives, and one of them died and so I have replaced it with a 3Tb drive.
     
  7. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,501
    First Name:
    Frank
    I'm not experienced with desktops that have multiple hard drives and/or multiple operating systems, so I'll leave you with someone who is to address your issue.

    ----------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. Alleyoop11

    Alleyoop11 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    OK, thanks. I've done some digging, seems like Seagate DiskWizard will allow me to do it. I'm downloading it now.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1089284

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice