1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New Hard Drive, showing less than it is?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Tsugaru, Nov 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Tsugaru

Tsugaru Thread Starter

Well I've just bought a new Hard Drive, a Maxtor 160gb IDE drive. I've installed it(was my first time).

When I did everything that needed to be done(My Computer>Manager>Disk management>etc) and even before that, the drive was saying that it is a 31Gb hard drive, when it ain't. It shows up everywhere where you can see how much disk space it has and how much is left.

Have I done something thing wrong? Portioned wrong? Like I said, I'm new to it, I don't know what else to do, so this is my best resort.

Any help would be greatly accepted.
    Thanks-Matt.

2. fairnooks

fairnooks Banned

Two things I know of that are possible;
    1. the drive has a jumper on the back of it that is limiting it to 31 gigs.
    2. the drive was formatted in FAT32 instead of NTFS which in Windows limits it to 32 gigs or less per partition.

If you just accepted the defaults when initializing and going into the format of the drive it should have made the partition the same size as the drive (minus formatting overhead) and in NTFS, so you didn't change any of the defaults the only thing I can think of is a jumper on the drive itself limiting it to 32 gigs or less.

3. Tsugaru

Tsugaru Thread Starter

I don't know, I'll have to check it out, even though I downloaded and installed Linux Ubuntu and it said that the drive was 160gbs. Should I still look?

4. crEA-tEch

crEA-tEch