new hard drive won't boot with cd

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

chipmonk

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 9, 2010
Messages
29
I installed a new hard drive( wd400 eb) in a HP Pavilion a 300 n. I am trying to boot from win.XP Pro.disk. The keyboard dosen't light up and monitor shuts down. The cd seems to be running but I get nowhere close to getting to set up. how do I check the mother board to see if it's shot too, or what else could be the problem.
Any help appreciated
Mrs. chipmonk
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
11,761
Howdy,

Do you mean you have put a new Hard drive in and what to install XP Pro on it..........does this PC have any other Hard drives installed?
 

chipmonk

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 9, 2010
Messages
29
no, there are no other hard drives in, and I want to use the xp cd to format and install windows. As you can tell, I'm no genius with thses computers.
 

chipmonk

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 9, 2010
Messages
29
no, the only thing that comes up is the monitor logo and the it goes off. there have been a few times It opened for a second or two, long enough to press F2, and the press any key, but then went off
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
11,761
What does the XP pro disc say on it......are you sure it is bootable?

Does F2 give you the option to choose what to boot from?

If you take the disc out does it do the same?
 

chipmonk

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 9, 2010
Messages
29
yes,the cd is bootable, when I turn it on, the power lights up, so I know thats ok, the cd bay seems to be turning. I changed monitor and keyboards,so I at least was able to open with F2 but it didn't stay on long enough to get to the hit any key because the letter keys are not working.
can I hook this new HD to the slave of another computer and load it from there and the put in in the HP?
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
11,761
No that won't work.........what problem did you have to have to install a new hard drive?
 

chipmonk

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 9, 2010
Messages
29
it is my daugh. pc. I think she just over loaded it and didn't keep it cleaned. The hard drive was clicking . I got it running long enough to run System Mechanic on it and clean out hundreds of files etc. On reboot it just would not re boot and the clicking noise was louder.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
11,761
Understand........this is a desktop PC?

and if you take the Hard drive out and try starting the PC what happens ...the same?
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
11,761
Try that and let us know the results......was the new HDD the same connections....as in Sata /IDE?
 

chipmonk

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 9, 2010
Messages
29
yes, it is exactly the same as the HD that was in it, and hooked back ex.the same.--- I'll try that and get back to you. This is my first post so I hope I can find my way back to here. Thanks a million!
 

chipmonk

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 9, 2010
Messages
29
unhooking the hard drive, all is the same,it poweres up ,the monitor screen says it is working. The cd bay doesn't open, it will open after the lights totally guit blinking( that is the same as it does w/ the HD) in .
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top