1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New Hard Drive

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by angelofdeath, Feb 5, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. angelofdeath

    angelofdeath Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    I just bought a new maxtor ide hard drive and installed it as a primary slave. It shows up on boot up and under my windows XP device manager. It says there is no problem with the drive, yet i cant access it at all!!!! theres no e: drive in my computer or anything. HELP!!!
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You need to partition it and format it before you'll be able to use it. If you open Disk Manager (right click My Computer, Manage, Disk Manager), you'll be able to allocate a partition and format it so you can use it.
     
  3. angelofdeath

    angelofdeath Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    thanks a lot for the help, but now i have another quetion, i want to move my whole system and everything from my old drive to my new drive, is there a way to do this right? aslo, when i format my new drive, should i choose ntfs or fat32?
     
  4. rosh325

    rosh325

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,098
    As for the fat32/NTFS.....what OS are you running? Just a rule of thumb....XP prefers NTFS....listen to others though
     
  5. JSanguancheu

    JSanguancheu

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,824
    Are you going to make the new harddrive the startup (master) drive later on?

    If so, I'm sure Maxtor has a disk utility that will copy everything over from the old HD including the boot files.

    My Seagate HD utility has this ability.

    Then it's just a matter of making the new drive the master, the old one a slave, and swapping positions on the IDE cable.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/117227

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice