1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New hardware found on every reboot

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by andrewpmoore, Jun 29, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. andrewpmoore

    andrewpmoore Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Hi
    I've been running vista on an old motherboard fine (until there was a hardware fault)
    I used this oppertunity to upgrade my system to a new Core2Duo system.

    I installed vista home premium, and it found all the drivers for everything and it all works ok.

    It also works fine if I reboot the machine. The problem comes if I swith off the machine and back on again.

    Every time it finds loads of new hardware (all previously installed and working hardware)
    Device manager shows no problems.

    The new hardware list is really long. It's got my tv tuners (usb and pci) usb hub on the motherboard, integrated sound card from the motherboard.

    I really don't understand why this is happening, but it's really annoying especially with the tuner cards as I have to set them up again each time in media center. (all other devices just automatically install again without me doing anything)

    Anyone got any ideas, it's driving me insane!

    Thanks
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You need to uninstall ALL the duplicated hardware in Device Manager, including the working stuff. Then when you reboot, it should only find the one copy of the hardware.
     
  3. leanne1984

    leanne1984

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Mine does that with my printer also. I have copy 1, 2, 3 etc of the driver and only the most recent number works. I also cannot uninstall the old copies as it says they are gone from control panel, but still show up when selecting a printer in software.
     
  4. downtime

    downtime

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    759
    Shades of 98. Best I can say is MS has gone overboard in locking the hardware into the os/activation.
    What motherboard? Is there a bios update? http://forums.techguy.org/windows-vista/575949-cant-remove-second-video-card.html
    http://forums.techguy.org/windows-vista/589606-audigy-2-vista-problem.html
    It doesn't surprise me it's related to hardware that relates to drm content.
    I'd be looking for bios updates, which have been as scarce a hen's teeth since the vista release.
    http://www.google.ca/search?q=vista...s=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a Or changing bios settings on the mobo.
    As far as printers go, I suspect it's a different issue.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/589794

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice