1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

new hardware found

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by wildexpressions, Apr 24, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. wildexpressions

    wildexpressions Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 1999
    Messages:
    152
    every time i boot up windows 98se reports new hardware found(unknown device),obviously i cant install a driver for an unknown device,it says that again after i press cancell then when i press cancell it says found new hardware pci card.
    I reinstalled EVERY driver i had video,modem,lan,sound,sidewinder,even the disc that came with my moniter.
    In device manager i have 3 yellow question marks in the"other devices" category,2 are for the unknown device and one for the pci card.
    any ideas/
    i have an amd athlon 1400 with 256 ddr ram,radeon 64 ddr video,onboard sound.
    thanks in advance
    Tony
     
  2. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Can you post a listing of your IRQs? Start button, run, then type msinfo32 and press ok...go to hardware, IRQs, edit, select all, edit, copy and come back and paste.

    Have you added anything like a modem, etc. that didn't come with the computer? If you have onboard sound, you may have other onboard items that you didn't disable. What is the make/model of the motherboard?

    Also, what happens if you don't press cancel?
     
  3. wildexpressions

    wildexpressions Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 1999
    Messages:
    152
    here is what i found,i disabled the onboard lan as i have a brandnew nic card,i dont know what type/kind of mother board i have,i know it has a 266 fsb
    if i dont press cancell,it wants to install a driver and i tried every driver disc i had and it says it was unable to locate the driver.




    0 System timer
    1 Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural Keyboard
    2 Programmable interrupt controller
    3 Communications Port (COM2)
    4 Communications Port (COM1)
    5 RADEON 7200
    5 IRQ Holder for PCI Steering
    6 Standard Floppy Disk Controller
    7 Printer Port (LPT1)
    8 System CMOS/real time clock
    9 (free)
    10 MPU-401 Compatible
    11 D-Link DFE-530TX PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter (Rev A)
    11 SiS 7012 Audio Driver
    11 SiS 7001 PCI to USB Open Host Controller
    11 SiS 7001 PCI to USB Open Host Controller
    11 IRQ Holder for PCI Steering
    11 IRQ Holder for PCI Steering
    11 IRQ Holder for PCI Steering
    11 IRQ Holder for PCI Steering
    12 PS/2 Compatible Mouse Port
    13 Numeric data processor
    14 Primary IDE controller (dual fifo)
    14 SiS 5513 Dual PCI IDE Controller
    15 Secondary IDE controller (dual fifo)
    15 SiS 5513 Dual PCI IDE Controller
     
  4. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Looks like you're missing the modem.....Is it onboard too?
     
  5. wildexpressions

    wildexpressions Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 1999
    Messages:
    152
    i found this in system information as well,shows something about my video card,but it is agp




    PCI Card
    Unknown
    This Device Has a Problem: Code=28 (0x1C)
    The drivers for this device are not installed correctly. To install the driver
    for this device, click the Driver tab, and then click Update Driver.
    Registry Key: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\enum\PCI\VEN_1039&DEV_7013&SUBSYS_70131039&REV_A0\BUS_00&DEV_02&FUNC_06
    Alloc resources: Logical Configuration 0
    IO Range: Base=xD400 End=xD4FF Min=x0000 Max=xFFFF Alias=xFF, Decode=x00
    Base=xD000 End=xD07F Min=x0000 Max=xFFFF Alias=xFF, Decode=x00
    Forced resources: None
    Boot resources: Logical Configuration 0
    IO Range: Base=xD400 End=xD4FF Min=x0000 Max=xFFFF Alias=xFF, Decode=x00
    Base=xD000 End=xD07F Min=x0000 Max=xFFFF Alias=xFF, Decode=x00
    Filtered resources: None
    Basic resources: Logical Configuration 0
    IRQ: 0 Mask: xDCB8
    IO Range: Base=xD400 End=xD4FF Min=x0000 Max=xFFFF Alias=xFF, Decode=x00
    Base=xD000 End=xD07F Min=x0000 Max=xFFFF Alias=xFF, Decode=x00
    HW Revision: 160
    Driver: Driver Not Installed

    Unknown Device
    Unknown
    This Device Has a Problem: Code=28 (0x1C)
    The drivers for this device are not installed correctly. To install the driver
    for this device, click the Driver tab, and then click Update Driver.
    Registry Key: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\enum\DISPLAY\ATIRTVIDEO\ATIWDM5PCI&VEN_1002&DEV_5144&SUBSYS_001A1002&REV_00&000800
    Alloc resources: None
    Forced resources: None
    Boot resources: None
    Filtered resources: None
    Basic resources: None
    Driver: Driver Not Installed

    Unknown Device
    Unknown
    This Device Has a Problem: Code=28 (0x1C)
    The drivers for this device are not installed correctly. To install the driver
    for this device, click the Driver tab, and then click Update Driver.
    Registry Key: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\enum\DISPLAY\MVDCODEC\ATIWDM7PCI&VEN_1002&DEV_5144&SUBSYS_001A1002&REV_00&000800
    Alloc resources: None
    Forced resources: None
    Boot resources: None
    Filtered resources: None
    Basic resources: None
    Driver: Driver Not Installed
     
  6. wildexpressions

    wildexpressions Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 1999
    Messages:
    152
    yes the modem is onboard,i have an sis motherboard but the only drivers at their website are for the onboard lan

    P.S why all the duplicate entries in my irq list
     
  7. wildexpressions

    wildexpressions Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 1999
    Messages:
    152
    ok i fixed the unknown device,it was for video capture,i went to the ati website and downloaded it and when i rebooted it installed it.
    there is just the pci card showing the yellow question mark,but i have cable so it doesnt matter if the modem is installed,I will go into the bios and disable it.
    Thanks for the help.....you did help, if you didnt guide me to system info i would not have seen that it was my video card driver that needed updateing
    Tony
     
  8. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    It's probably a PC Tel or Micro Modem....do you have your original cdrom for the board? or manual for the system? Obviously you aren't using the modem.

    Don't worry about the duplicate entries, everything there is fine.....The PCI Steering items help the IRQs play together nicer.

    Do you have 4 USB ports?
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/77448

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice