1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New HD

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Cassis, Sep 22, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Cassis

    Cassis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16
    Hi, do you think a Seagate Barracuda 80 gb harddrive will work with my Compaq Presario 5640? Or is it too big for it?
     
  2. JohnJ

    JohnJ

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2001
    Messages:
    433
    WELCOME TO TSG.


    what operating system are you running?
    What size hard drive do you have now?
     
  3. akita

    akita

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    234
    80 gb is not overly large for a hard drive these days, and the size of the hdd is nothing to do with the rest of your system setup.... if u gunna use it ...go get it
     
  4. n2gun

    n2gun

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2000
    Messages:
    4,168
    depending on the bios on your computer it may accept it as a full 80 gig. If it does not due to the bios being limited to drives under 32 gig you can partition it to 3 sections under the 32 limit.
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Actually, if the BIOS doesn't recognize the 80gig, you can't simply partition smaller, the 32gigs for 1999 and earlier BIOS versions are for the whole drive.
     
  6. Cassis

    Cassis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16

    My operating system is Windows 98. I've had a 46 gb harddrive, but it crashed.
    Is it true that there is a limit at 32 gb and the next limit is 120 gb? If so, I have already stepped over that limit with my 46 gb drive.
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    In that case, the 80gig should be no issue, you have the limits correct in your mind. :)
     
  8. JohnJ

    JohnJ

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2001
    Messages:
    433
    Did the full 46gb show up before it crashed??.....if so, I don't see why the 80gig wouldn't work.
     
  9. suesman

    suesman

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    261
    I went from a Quantum lct10 10gig to an IBM Deskstar 120GXP 120gig without any issues at all. This was on a machine running Windoze 98se with a PII450. It reported the drive as 117gigs, so I don't think you should have any probs with the 80gigger.
     
  10. compilerxp

    compilerxp

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,629
    You shouldn't have PROBLEMS with the 80GB running on your Compaq...

    BUT you need to download the FDISK update from Microsoft... go to their support section, do a search on something like "100GB drive windows98" it should point you the right way. Or grab FDISK from a windowsME boot floppy (dont use the Me Boot floppy for Windows98) or from WIndowsME C:/windows/command folder.

    Standard FDISK tops out around 63GB... The new one will have no problem going higher.
     
  11. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    Just for my info, what does fdisk do that format does not? When I reformat a HDD I just use format and load the os (98SE)
     
  12. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    37,983
    Fdisk creates / deletes partitions on the drive. One way of explaining it is that fdisk gets the hd ready to format. If there is no valid partition, you cannot format.
     
  13. Cassis

    Cassis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16
    Alright, thanks everybody! I'll buy that drive. :)
     
  14. Cassis

    Cassis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16
    I shouldn't have bought that drive. When it reached about 30 GB, it crashed and destroyed the saved information so badly I could only recover a small part.
    Learn by my mistake and DO NOT buy an 80 GB harddrive for any computer like mine. And do not listen to Compaq or Seagate support. They all told me it would be okey to buy it and now look what happened.
     
  15. compilerxp

    compilerxp

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,629
    Did you fdisk it correctly? Formatted it first?

    Reached 30GB of what? Ghosting? Formatting?

    Forgot your specs... but a typical P3 and P2 systems should not have problems.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/166567

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice