1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

new HP w/Vista can unistall junk programs

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by Nobadthing, Feb 4, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Nobadthing

Nobadthing Thread Starter

I just purchased a new HP Pavilion with Vista Home Premium yesterday. As soon as got it home I went to uninstall programs to remove the pre-installed junk software only to find must of the programs were not listed as available to uninstall. I was not given any program CDs for Vista and I'm afraid to try and put XP on this computer. I've talked to HP and the people at Best Buy but no one can tell me how to get rid of it. I'm extremely annoyed. I'm fairly computer literate but I'm not an expert. I do know I don't like having this crap on my computer and I'm frustrated enough to return the whole thing. Is there anyway I can safely uninstall the following "trial" programs: Vongo, Vonage, AOL, Easy Internet, High Speed Services etc? Also, I want to remove: Windows Defender, PhotoSmart Essential, Windows Meeting Space, LightScribe etc?

And what the heck is HP Total Care and HP Easy Setup-CORE, HP Network Assistant? Can I and how do I remove these programs? I usually use google to search any program I don't recognize to determine if I can safely remove it but with the newness of Vista I can't seem to find anything trustworthy.

(Hp said I need to call the software providers. I asked them why they put it on there if they don't know how to get it off but "Tina" (yea, right) had no idea what I was saying. I didn't understand most of what she said either so I guess we were even. Gotta love outsourcing to India...)