1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New install no ethernet, but can get wireless

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Sola, Nov 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Sola

    Sola Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    A friend brought over a computer for me to remove a virus, after checking out the computer found that the OS was hosed. So backed up data, and put a fresh istall of XP pro on the PC, legal copy not bootlegged. Couldn't get ethernet working, figured since he did have a several nasty viruses, I'd flash the BIOS, and right 0's to the drive just to make sure no nasties were still on the machine. All said and done, reinstalled XP Pro, on an Emachine T2862. Installed drivers. Installed a pci 3Com ethernet card, with the right drivers. No ethernet, cant get an IP, tried using a good static IP didn't conect to the internet, couldn't ping the router. Plugged in a Linksys wireless usb adapter, grabbed an IP right away. Tryied plugging the ethernet in, ethernets get IP's now, unplug usb and ethernet stops working. Plugged usb back in did all of the windows updates, including hardware. Tried Ethnet with the new drivers, still doesn't work. Tried Winsock fix, tried XP bat fix. Any other suggestions, I'm stuck.
     
  2. bearone2

    bearone2 Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    5,809
    does the 3com card show up in device manager? without exclamation point?

    emachines probably had ob ethernet and needs that driver.
     
  3. Sola

    Sola Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    All drivers show up fine no explination marks. Yes the old one was OB and did have the right drivers. Tried 3 differant cards incase one was bad. Plugged into another computer to test the cable and the port on the router. This is not a simple one.
     
  4. bearone2

    bearone2 Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    5,809
    just cuz it says "ok" ain't necessarily so.

    does dm show the 3com and the ob?

    flashing the bios can be dicey.
     
  5. Sola

    Sola Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Had same problem before flashing bois, Both cards have the right drivers. They are both in the DM. Tried dissabling the OB.
     
  6. bearone2

    bearone2 Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    5,809
    disable the other one.
     
  7. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    Try the card in a different PCI slot
     
  8. Sola

    Sola Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Have on board that isn't getting an IP right drivers, and everthing appears right in DM. Tried 3 differant cards in differant slots, with the right drivers for each of the cards. Can't get an IP. But wireless works.
     
  9. cybertech

    cybertech Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    72,115
    I have merged your two threads into this one. Please continue to reply here. If you feel this is not a hardware problem you can request the thread be moved to a different forum.

    However.... I feel it is hardware related.
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,822
    First Name:
    Terry
    My guess is that the motherboard's integrated ethernet controller is bad. I remember Bob Cerelli saying that when a bad controller prevents integrated and PCI networking from working sometimes USB will work. That seems to be what is happening here.

    And, no, I have no explanation for getting an IP configuration on the ethernet when the USB adapter was present. Was it a valid configuration from the router?
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/654018

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice