1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New internal HD not showing

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by BadDriver115, Nov 25, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. BadDriver115

    BadDriver115 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    I had a Sate 2tb hard drive installed by "professional" . It was partitioned . Got it home but the 2 new drives do not show on my computer but the full c: and d: show and I think the computer is going to crash
     
  2. Oddba11

    Oddba11

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,200
    First Name:
    Jim
    Check Disk Management to see if the drive is listed, and if so, the drive status.

    Was the drive "professionally" installed in the computer, or simply configured and you installed it?
     
  3. BadDriver115

    BadDriver115 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Professionally installed he split the 2tb ;1tb given the location J: and G:for recovery. I was told it was already to go just plug it in and power on. But did that .& all I saw was the Os:c and D: Recovery. I found them still in computer management after some reading but still haven't gotten far. Please help
     
  4. Oddba11

    Oddba11

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,200
    First Name:
    Jim
    How many HDD's are installed/connected?

    If the drive is shown in Drive Management, what is the drive status?

    Drive letters can/will change when drives are disconnected/connected. So you can't base whether a drive is working on not by the drive letter. If "C: OS and D: Recovery" correspond to the two partitions on the new drive, then it sounds like it's working.
     
  5. dustyjay

    dustyjay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    First Name:
    Jay
    Please post your system specs, To include Make and model System if Big Box, or same info for the following if custom or home built, Mother Board (including Revision number), Processor (Exact Model Number), Ram, Video Card, Hdd(s), Optical Drive(s), Power Supply Manufacturer Model, Wattage and Amperage on the +12V Rails, OS, and any other peripherals installed on the motherboard.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1113888

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice