New Inverter board didn't fix dim screen!!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ej

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 21, 1999
Messages
343
Grrrrrr, I just put in the second (1st one was generic) inverter board for my HP Presario M2000. The screen is still almost black, can faintly see windows when booting, then black. It works fine hooked up to external monitor. Anybody have any other ideas to fix the &%$ thing??? :mad:
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2003
Messages
17,584
Illumination of an LCD has two major components:

The inverter
The Backlight.

We know that you have tried the inverter, but that is only one half of a possible solution.
 

ej

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 21, 1999
Messages
343
ej said:
Grrrrrr, I just put in the second (1st one was generic) inverter board for my HP Presario M2000. The screen is still almost black, can faintly see windows when booting, then black. It works fine hooked up to external monitor. Anybody have any other ideas to fix the &%$ thing??? :mad:

anybody know what the output voltage to the LCD from the inverter should be? I suppose it is possible I bought a bad inverter!!
 

ej

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 21, 1999
Messages
343
how do I test the LCD? does it still have faint image when its bad?
 

Frank4d

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
9,126
ej said:
how do I test the LCD? does it still have faint image when its bad?
Yes, a very dark but recognizable image. If the inverter is producing 400 to 1000 VAC the the inverter is probably ok and you should suspect the backlight or wiring to it. Make sure you set your meter to read 1000 VAC or higher and be careful... touching 1000 VAC WILL kick your butt.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2003
Messages
17,584
The accuracy of measurement will vary a lot by the meter used as well, as it is at a frequency of several kHz, and many meters are only good to a few hundred Hz.
 

Frank4d

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
9,126
kiwiguy said:
The accuracy of measurement will vary a lot by the meter used as well, as it is at a frequency of several kHz, and many meters are only good to a few hundred Hz.
Agreed. I have some digital multimeter models at work that crap out if I try to read 400 Hz (they read nothing).
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top