1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New Inverter board didn't fix dim screen!!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ej, Feb 5, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ej

    ej Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 1999
    Messages:
    343
    Grrrrrr, I just put in the second (1st one was generic) inverter board for my HP Presario M2000. The screen is still almost black, can faintly see windows when booting, then black. It works fine hooked up to external monitor. Anybody have any other ideas to fix the &%$ thing??? :mad:
     
  2. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    Illumination of an LCD has two major components:

    The inverter
    The Backlight.

    We know that you have tried the inverter, but that is only one half of a possible solution.
     
  3. ej

    ej Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 1999
    Messages:
    343

    anybody know what the output voltage to the LCD from the inverter should be? I suppose it is possible I bought a bad inverter!!
     
  4. ej

    ej Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 1999
    Messages:
    343
    how do I test the LCD? does it still have faint image when its bad?
     
  5. Frank4d

    Frank4d Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    Yes, a very dark but recognizable image. If the inverter is producing 400 to 1000 VAC the the inverter is probably ok and you should suspect the backlight or wiring to it. Make sure you set your meter to read 1000 VAC or higher and be careful... touching 1000 VAC WILL kick your butt.
     
  6. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    The accuracy of measurement will vary a lot by the meter used as well, as it is at a frequency of several kHz, and many meters are only good to a few hundred Hz.
     
  7. Frank4d

    Frank4d Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    Agreed. I have some digital multimeter models at work that crap out if I try to read 400 Hz (they read nothing).
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/541560

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice