1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New Laptop makes internet unusable. HELP!

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Dorgi, Jun 10, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Dorgi

    Dorgi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    So i recently just obtained a Vaio Sony Windows 7 laptop. I turned it on and everything was working fine. I used the internet for about a minute then my internet disconnected and was unusable. I opened my desktop computer to see whats wrong but the connection there also stopped. I troubleshooted and it says i cannot communicate with Primary DNS server. It says i am connected but i have no internet access. I am currenty using my iPhone to type this. Please help!
     
  2. Dorgi

    Dorgi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    i have already unplugged my modem at least 10 times. Im pretty sure my internet service provider is fine because i had no problem using it 5 minutes before using my laptop.
     
  3. BPCS

    BPCS

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    131
    Sounds like conincidence. You reset the modem, did you also try resetting the router?
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,977
    whats the make and model of the router / modem if separate
    and whats the status of all the lights on the router / modem
     
  5. Dorgi

    Dorgi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    My modem is motorola and it has lights on power, receive, and pc/activity. It is currently blinking on send. The online does not have and blinking lights.

    My router is linksys and it has lights on power, wlan, ethernet 4, and internet.

    I appreciate the help, thank you!
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,977
    exact model

    the laptop and desktop cannot connect
    and the
    whats the normal state of this light - sounds like a modem/isp issue - have you called the ISP at all?

    try a full power cycle
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    How to power cycle

    “power cycle” process to reboot or reset the modem/router
    • Switch off all the devices modem, router and computers also unplug their power cables.
    • Wait at least 30 seconds.
    • Plug the power cords back in, but don’t switch them on.
    • First turn on the modem and then wait for a few minutes for it to settle and all the lights to become stable.
    • Next switch on the router (if a seperate device ) and then wait for a few minutes for it to settle and all the lights to become stable.
    • Now turn on your computer, You should now be able to access the Internet.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. Dorgi

    Dorgi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    The modem model is Motorola Surfboard Model: SB5101 and the online light does not go on which i believe is the problem. I will try the full power cycle now and i have not contacted ny ISP because my internet didnt have a problem before i got my laptop.
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,977
    may have been coincidence
    how are you posting here ?
     
  9. Dorgi

    Dorgi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    my iPhone T_____T sorry but how do i contact my ISP?
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,977
    by phone - when you took out the contract - did you not get account details at all

    who are they, can you log into the website and see the status with the iphone at all?

    contact support info should be on their website
     
  11. Dorgi

    Dorgi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Okay so i contacted my ISP and they just told me to turn off everything and turn it back on which didnt work at all.
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,977
    connect a PC up to just the modem on its own and do a power cycle and see if that works
     
  13. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,977
  14. Dorgi

    Dorgi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Yes and receive and send are blinking
     
  15. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,977
    what about online ?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1056502