New laptop, no internet access

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

CorB

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 25, 2010
Messages
7
I just got a new laptop, it is some kind of Sony Vaio and it uses Windows 7, I'd give more info, but I don't know what to look for... The PC I'm using now is some kind of Gateway and it uses Vista. My router is a Linksys WRT150-N.

The problem: my laptop is not connected to the internet.

When I turned on the laptop for the first time it told me that I need to connect an Ethernet cable from the router to the laptop, I'm confused by this, but this is what I did, I found a cable that I used to use to connect from my router to my Xbox 360 for Xbox live, (is this an Ethernet cable?) and used it to connect my router to my laptop. The laptop seems to recognize the existence of my router (as well as a bunch of other random routers) but when I try to connect to it, it says the router has No Internet Access.

If you need any more information to solve this problem just tell me what to look for as I'm a little confused on what specific information I need to give and where to find that information in the first place.

Thanks...
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,262
First Name
Terry
is this an Ethernet cable?
Yes. :)

A lot of times new PCs come with a non-Windows security suite (Norton, McAfee, etc.) and sometimes you cannot even connect to a local network until you properly configure the firewall or uninstall the security suite.

Try to connect by ethernet and wireless (at the same time) and show ...

Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
(For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

Type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

[Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
 

CorB

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 25, 2010
Messages
7
I did uninstall Norton and it still doesn't work, and I'm not sure what you mean by connecting by ethernet and wireless at the same time.

Here's the info for the PC:

Code:
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
C:\Users\*****>IPCONFIG/ALL
Windows IP Configuration
Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : *****-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : launchmodem.com
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : launchmodem.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Westell WireSpeed Dual Connect Modem
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-60-0F-54-3D-C1
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::99cd:c4a3:655a:af8d%12(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.96(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, December 25, 2010 7:03:03 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, December 26, 2010 7:03:03 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 302014479
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-11-35-FF-1A-00-22-68-49-EC-BA
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
192.168.1.254
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8071 PCI-E Gigabit Ether
net Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-68-49-EC-BA
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::488e:10cb:f7f9:5bd9%10(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 234889832
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-11-35-FF-1A-00-22-68-49-EC-BA
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%2
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%2
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%2
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:2023:27df:3f57:fe9f(Pref
erred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2023:27df:3f57:fe9f%11(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 184680532
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-11-35-FF-1A-00-22-68-49-EC-BA
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : launchmodem.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{39780BE4-6C3D-4E25-A110-9C620A422
489}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
C:\Users\*****>
For the laptop:

Code:
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.
C:\Users\*****>IPCONFIG/ALL
Windows IP Configuration
   Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : *****-VAIO
   Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
   Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
   IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
   WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
   DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : mshome.net
Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:
   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 4A-0F-6E-DA-AB-0E
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : mshome.net
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 78-84-3C-2E-F2-FA
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : mshome.net
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 4C-0F-6E-DA-AB-0E
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::9d49:1556:73cb:3851%11(Preferred)
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100(Preferred)
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
   Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, December 25, 2010 7:08:03 PM
   Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, December 26, 2010 8:31:24 PM
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
                                       192.168.1.1
   DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
   DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 192470280
   DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-14-64-09-F8-78-84-3C-2E-F2-FA
   DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
Tunnel adapter isatap.mshome.net:
   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : mshome.net
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Tunnel adapter isatap.{83908081-1198-4BA8-89E2-F30A069DDA14}:
   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Teredo Tunneling Adapter
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
C:\Users\*****>
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,262
First Name
Terry
It looks like you have two Dhcp servers on the network, or else the laptop is real confused.

What is the brand and model of your modem and of each router, and how are they connected to each other?

Try this on the laptop ...

(From a JohnWill post)

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or 7.

Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

Reboot the machine.
 

CorB

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 25, 2010
Messages
7
I have, what appears to be a Westell modem Model: A90 - 210030 -04. The router is a Linksys WRT150-N. How are they connected? Ummm, well it's kind of a mess of wires, but here's what I see: it looks like one cable, connected to the Internet port on the router connects with the modem. There's then another cable on the router that connects to the CPU. The modem also has a cable that connects to the CPU. Then I have the cable that I was using for Xbox live connecting from an Ethernet port to the laptop.

I'm confused about what you suggested I do. I've gotten as far a running command prompt as administrator, but I don't understand what to do from there.
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,262
First Name
Terry
In the Command prompt window type (one at a time) the three netsh commands in bold.

The Westell is a modem/router combination unit, so you have two routers cascaded and both using the same LAN subnet. In most cases you never get internet access through the second router and in other cases you sometimes get access.

Suggest that you, or whoever is the network administrator, changes the LAN subnet of one router to something else; for example, 192.168.3.x.
 

CorB

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 25, 2010
Messages
7
Suggest that you, or whoever is the network administrator, changes the LAN subnet of one router to something else; for example, 192.168.3.x.
Ok... how do I do that?:confused:
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,262
First Name
Terry
Login to the router, navigate to the LAN section and make the change to the address. Check to see if you then have to also change the Dhcp server's address range to match or whether it changes automatically. If you don't have the router's user guide handy you can probably get it online from the manufacturer's web site.
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,262
First Name
Terry
To access the router's configuration and status pages you type the router's LAN address into your browser's address bar. Linksys defaults to 192.168.1.1 and your ipconfig outputs above indicate that it is still using that default address.

So, in your browser if you want to access google you'd type www.google.com; to access the Linksys router you type 192.168.1.1. To access the Westell router you type 192.168.1.254.
 

CorB

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 25, 2010
Messages
7
The Linksys one didn't seem to work, but the Westell address brought me to a page called Bellsouth FastAccess Internet Service, not sure what to do from here though.
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,262
First Name
Terry
It's possible that to access the Linksys you will have to temporarily disconnect it from the Westell.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top