1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New laptop, no internet access

Discussion in 'Networking' started by CorB, Dec 25, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. CorB

    CorB Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    I just got a new laptop, it is some kind of Sony Vaio and it uses Windows 7, I'd give more info, but I don't know what to look for... The PC I'm using now is some kind of Gateway and it uses Vista. My router is a Linksys WRT150-N.

    The problem: my laptop is not connected to the internet.

    When I turned on the laptop for the first time it told me that I need to connect an Ethernet cable from the router to the laptop, I'm confused by this, but this is what I did, I found a cable that I used to use to connect from my router to my Xbox 360 for Xbox live, (is this an Ethernet cable?) and used it to connect my router to my laptop. The laptop seems to recognize the existence of my router (as well as a bunch of other random routers) but when I try to connect to it, it says the router has No Internet Access.

    If you need any more information to solve this problem just tell me what to look for as I'm a little confused on what specific information I need to give and where to find that information in the first place.

    Thanks...
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,185
    First Name:
    Terry
    Yes. :)

    A lot of times new PCs come with a non-Windows security suite (Norton, McAfee, etc.) and sometimes you cannot even connect to a local network until you properly configure the firewall or uninstall the security suite.

    Try to connect by ethernet and wireless (at the same time) and show ...

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  3. CorB

    CorB Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    I did uninstall Norton and it still doesn't work, and I'm not sure what you mean by connecting by ethernet and wireless at the same time.

    Here's the info for the PC:

    Code:
     
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\*****>IPCONFIG/ALL
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : *****-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : launchmodem.com
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : launchmodem.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Westell WireSpeed Dual Connect Modem
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-60-0F-54-3D-C1
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::99cd:c4a3:655a:af8d%12(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.96(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, December 25, 2010 7:03:03 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, December 26, 2010 7:03:03 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 302014479
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-11-35-FF-1A-00-22-68-49-EC-BA
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    192.168.1.254
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8071 PCI-E Gigabit Ether
    net Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-68-49-EC-BA
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::488e:10cb:f7f9:5bd9%10(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 234889832
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-11-35-FF-1A-00-22-68-49-EC-BA
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%2
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%2
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%2
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:2023:27df:3f57:fe9f(Pref
    erred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2023:27df:3f57:fe9f%11(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 184680532
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-11-35-FF-1A-00-22-68-49-EC-BA
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : launchmodem.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{39780BE4-6C3D-4E25-A110-9C620A422
    489}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    C:\Users\*****>
    
    For the laptop:

    Code:
     
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\*****>IPCONFIG/ALL
    Windows IP Configuration
       Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : *****-VAIO
       Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
       Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
       IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
       WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
       DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : mshome.net
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:
       Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 4A-0F-6E-DA-AB-0E
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
       Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
       Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : mshome.net
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 78-84-3C-2E-F2-FA
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
       Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : mshome.net
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 4C-0F-6E-DA-AB-0E
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
       Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
       Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::9d49:1556:73cb:3851%11(Preferred)
       IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100(Preferred)
       Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
       Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, December 25, 2010 7:08:03 PM
       Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, December 26, 2010 8:31:24 PM
       Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
                                           192.168.1.1
       DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
       DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 192470280
       DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-14-64-09-F8-78-84-3C-2E-F2-FA
       DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
       NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Tunnel adapter isatap.mshome.net:
       Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : mshome.net
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
       Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{83908081-1198-4BA8-89E2-F30A069DDA14}:
       Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
       Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
       Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Teredo Tunneling Adapter
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
       Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    C:\Users\*****>
    
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,185
    First Name:
    Terry
    It looks like you have two Dhcp servers on the network, or else the laptop is real confused.

    What is the brand and model of your modem and of each router, and how are they connected to each other?

    Try this on the laptop ...

    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or 7.

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  5. CorB

    CorB Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    I have, what appears to be a Westell modem Model: A90 - 210030 -04. The router is a Linksys WRT150-N. How are they connected? Ummm, well it's kind of a mess of wires, but here's what I see: it looks like one cable, connected to the Internet port on the router connects with the modem. There's then another cable on the router that connects to the CPU. The modem also has a cable that connects to the CPU. Then I have the cable that I was using for Xbox live connecting from an Ethernet port to the laptop.

    I'm confused about what you suggested I do. I've gotten as far a running command prompt as administrator, but I don't understand what to do from there.
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,185
    First Name:
    Terry
    In the Command prompt window type (one at a time) the three netsh commands in bold.

    The Westell is a modem/router combination unit, so you have two routers cascaded and both using the same LAN subnet. In most cases you never get internet access through the second router and in other cases you sometimes get access.

    Suggest that you, or whoever is the network administrator, changes the LAN subnet of one router to something else; for example, 192.168.3.x.
     
  7. CorB

    CorB Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Ok... how do I do that?:confused:
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,185
    First Name:
    Terry
    Login to the router, navigate to the LAN section and make the change to the address. Check to see if you then have to also change the Dhcp server's address range to match or whether it changes automatically. If you don't have the router's user guide handy you can probably get it online from the manufacturer's web site.
     
  9. CorB

    CorB Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    How do I login to the router?
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,185
    First Name:
    Terry
    RTM (5th bullet item). ;)
     
  11. CorB

    CorB Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    7
  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,185
    First Name:
    Terry
    To access the router's configuration and status pages you type the router's LAN address into your browser's address bar. Linksys defaults to 192.168.1.1 and your ipconfig outputs above indicate that it is still using that default address.

    So, in your browser if you want to access google you'd type www.google.com; to access the Linksys router you type 192.168.1.1. To access the Westell router you type 192.168.1.254.
     
  13. CorB

    CorB Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    The Linksys one didn't seem to work, but the Westell address brought me to a page called Bellsouth FastAccess Internet Service, not sure what to do from here though.
     
  14. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,185
    First Name:
    Terry
    It's possible that to access the Linksys you will have to temporarily disconnect it from the Westell.
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/970618

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice