1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New Laptop w/ Vista experiencing Problems

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by Gunnerblaster, Jun 21, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Gunnerblaster

    Gunnerblaster Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Toshiba Laptop
    Satellite A215-S5849
    AMD Turion 64 X2 Dual-Core Mobile Technology TL-60
    2048MB PC5300 DDR2 SDRAM
    200GB (4200 RPM) HDD
    802.11 b/g wireless

    That's all my information for my laptop. I'm kind've illiterate when it comes to the works of computers so I'm entirely sure I'm going to learn alot from the responses on this website.

    Well, here's what my problem is: Randomly, my laptop will start to freak out on me and easy-to-run programs like Word Processing, opening up the Start Menu and running Window's Media player will completely freeze. I won't even be able to open up my Task Manager to manually 'end' the programs and it's really stressing me out.

    Please, before any of you reponds to this post, keep in mind that you'll have to break this down for me. I apologize for the inconvenience but I would greatly appreciate any advice on my current dilemma.
     
  2. DaveA

    DaveA David Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    11,849
    What AV and security programs are you running?
     
  3. Gunnerblaster

    Gunnerblaster Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Could you please explain to me what an AV is?

    And the only Security program I have running is Window's normal firewall, that comes with the system.
     
  4. Broni

    Broni

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    979
    AV = antivirus
     
  5. Gunnerblaster

    Gunnerblaster Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Oh, well - In that case - I have no idea.

    =)

    As I said, I'm pretty computer illiterate. I just barely have "Point and Click" down. I can run through the basic clean-up/defrag programs but I'm pretty sure anyone can do that.

    All the information on my laptop is on a sticker on my palm-part so that's the only way I know just -what- my laptop is.

    >.<

    How would I check to know exactly what AV and Firewalls I have running?
     
  6. davehc

    davehc Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,725
    Type Msconfig in the Start.
    In the new window, click the start up tab.
    Now see if you can give us a picture of all the processes you have listed there, which are ticked. ( or if you cannot, and it isn't too daunting, type them out so that we can see them.)
     
  7. Gunnerblaster

    Gunnerblaster Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Alright. Here are all the things I currently have checked under Msconfig > Startup:
    Chicony Traybar
    Toshiba Power Saver
    Toshiba Button Support
    Toshiba Zooming Utility
    jswtrayutil
    Windows Defender
    StartCCC
    Bluetooth Stack for Windows by Toshiba
    HD Audio Control Panel
    Synaptics Pointing Device Driver
    ConfigFree(TM) Tray
    Symantec Security Technologies
    Toshiba Flash Cards
    LiveUpdate Notice
    Adobe Acrobat
    Microsoft Windows Operating System
    En -us
    Microsoft Windows Operating System
    Microsoft Windows Operating System
     
  8. davehc

    davehc Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,725
    You are going to need a reader who owns a Toshiba machine to tell you if the Toshiba specific programs are needed.
    If you do not have a webcam, you can untick the Chicony Traybar and I have read that the Button support is not required.
    The "jswtray util" is, I believe, something to do with a Zoom function. It will do no harm to untick it and see if it affects your operations in any way.
    Adobe Acrobat can safely be unticked - it will still run when you need it.
    I am not clear why there are three MS Windows Operating system entries. I have never seen the first (EN -us) running before in the startup. One of the otheres is probably the "Etray" (for the media centre) The third baffles me. Whic programs are the three poining to if you scroll to the right - under "command"?

    Maybe that's a start and some other contributers will help further.
    Your graphics card is a ATI Radeon X1200 GPU. This does not appear to be fully supported on the ATI pages, but you can get the latest Vista32 bit driver from here:
    That could, alone, solve your problem.
    http://driverscollection.com/?file_cid=3997584096090260071963aae24
     
  9. Gunnerblaster

    Gunnerblaster Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Startup Item / Command
    Microsoft Windows Operating System / rundll32.exe oobefldr.dll,ShowWelcomeCenter
    En -us / TOSCDSPD.EXE
    Microsoft Windows Operating System / C:\Windowsehome\ehTray.exe
    Microsoft Windows Operating System / C:\Program Files\Windows Media Player \ WMPNSCFG.exe

    Alright. That's all the info, as far as Command goes. I also noticed that the program, 'En -us', is 'Unknown', as far as the manufacturer goes.
     
  10. Jacee

    Jacee Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    437
    Microsoft Windows Operating System / rundll32.exe oobefldr.dll,ShowWelcomeCenter <-- this does not need to run at start up.
    You can find it if needed by clicking on the Control Panel.

    En -us / TOSCDSPD.EXE <-- This isn't a 'critical start up item'. See the link:
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/startups/toscdspd.exe-5802.html

    These two programs don't need to run at start up.
    Microsoft Windows Operating System / C:\Windowsehome\ehTray.exe
    Microsoft Windows Operating System / C:\Program Files\Windows Media Player \ WMPNSCFG.exe
     
  11. Gunnerblaster

    Gunnerblaster Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Thank you all, very much. I'll apply the changes and restart my laptop and continue on and see if anything changes.

    =)
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/723384