1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

new malware threat

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by pcguy9441, Dec 21, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pcguy9441

    pcguy9441 Thread Starter

    Apr 16, 2007
    See cut/paste junk email below: I've been getting 5-10 per day for about 4 wks or so, and fortunately my Outlook 2010 junk filter is trapping them, but it's still annoying since this stuff went out under my email addr.. I've created an Outlook filter rule to just delete them on arrival, but it does not work. Maybe it's not designed to intercept and delete mail before it hits the Junk folder.

    Does anyone know if Outlook should be able to delete immediately? I've rechecked my rule definition several times and it looks correct. I key off the phrase "Nous Sommes" but it does not trap it. The French stuff is simply the same info as what you see in English. "orange.fr" is a legit server in France. I have not tried to go to the link below if in fact it is a link vs an email addr.

    I'm wondering if this is some sort of serious targeted attack which seriously infects my PC if I click a link or just an innocuous email bounce like we always see if we mistype someone's email addr.

    Any suggestions? "forget about it?", "change the rule?", "contact my ISP (ATT) ?", "panic and run in circles?" I don't want to change my email addr.


    Nous sommes desoles de vous informer que votre message n a pas pu etre remis a un ou plusieurs de ses destinataires.
    Ceci est un message automatique genere par le serveur mwinf5d13.orange.fr.
    Merci de ne pas y repondre.

    This is the mail system at host mwinf5d13.orange.fr. <--------- this remains the same on every email
    I'm sorry to have to inform you that your message could not be delivered to one or more recipients.

    The mail system

    <[email protected].ru>: host centrtehkom.ru[] said: 550 "Unknown User
    " <-----these links/email addrs (in bold) change with each occurance
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1081861

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice