1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New Maxtor 3200 external hard drive won't open

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by frank4al, Jul 11, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. frank4al

    frank4al Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Using Windows XP. Hooked new hard drive via USB, computer recognizes the drive and said it is working properly. Unable to access the drive. There is no installation disc or manual.
     
  2. Skivvywaver

    Skivvywaver

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2001
    Messages:
    13,937
    Go to control panel, administrative tools, computer management, disk management and see if the drive is listed there.

    If it is, you need to format the drive and then it will be recognized by windows.
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    You can mark your own threads solved using the thread tools at the top of the page in the upper right corner.© :)
     
  4. Skivvywaver

    Skivvywaver

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2001
    Messages:
    13,937

    :D Is it solved? :confused: I am beginning to think you are clairvoyant John. :eek:
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Sounded good. :D
     
  6. Skivvywaver

    Skivvywaver

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2001
    Messages:
    13,937
    Hey, for once I gave sound advice. I say it is solved. ;)
     
  7. frank4al

    frank4al Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Skivvywaver: My computer recognizes that the drive is installed and working. How can I format the drive if I can't see it?
    frank4al:confused:
     
  8. Skivvywaver

    Skivvywaver

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2001
    Messages:
    13,937
    :edit: Right click the drive................format. Make it NTFS if you are using Windows 2000-Vista. Fat32 if using Windows M.E. and prior.
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Start, Run, diskmgmt.msc

    Right click on the left hand panel for your external drive and select "Initialize".

    Then you'll be able to right click on the unallocated graphic and partition and format it.
     
  10. frank4al

    frank4al Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    JohnWill,
    Thanks for your response. When I right click as you suggested the only choices on the drop down are "properties" and "help"
    frank4al:confused:
     
  11. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Please post a screen shot of Disk Management and the right click menu opened as you describe.

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to TSG, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
     
  12. frank4al

    frank4al Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    JohnWill: I'm with you most of the way. I have disc management in Paint, but don't know how to get it into JPG format. The TSG couldn't send it as is. Bear with me a little longer.
    frank4al
     
  13. frank4al

    frank4al Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    to JohnWill: OK, I have my file to send in jpeg format but it is 1.16MB and too large to be accepted by TSG. Next step??
    frank4al
     
  14. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    When you take a screen shot, crop the picture to only show the necessary parts, not the whole desktop. If you hold the Alt key and then press PrtScr, you'll only get the active window in the screen shot.
     
  15. frank4al

    frank4al Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    JohnWill:I had already taken out all the background and the file still was too large....

    However, using copy and paste I copied all my files to the external drive. I still don't know how to "format the drive" or an easy way to periodically back-up all data.

    Thanks for your help,:)
    frank4al
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/594505