1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New McAfee "Spyware Protection." ??

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Jimmy A, Jan 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jimmy A

    Jimmy A Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Messages:
    230
    New McAfee upgrade seems like quite a leap ahead and a big improvement for them. New protection by default includes "Spyware Protection" it didn't seem to have before. So I turned off my AdAware SE protection. Now I've scanned twice with AdAware and it twice came up with "critical objects" that McAfee missed. Any harm in running "active protection" of both McAfee and AdAware together?

    Haven't found any way to turn off just the spyware part of McAfee while leaving the Virus Scan on.

    Any opinions on what I should do?
     
  2. douchrti

    douchrti

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Brands that are competitors dont usually work well together. They will give each other false positives.
     
  3. Jimmy A

    Jimmy A Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Messages:
    230
    Thank you for that. I've had them on together for a couple days now and they seem to be OK so far.

    Anyone else have an opinion on this?
     
  4. Old Rich

    Old Rich

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,254
    I have seen competing brands of Anti-Virus cause issues, but so far, most of the anti-spyware programs seem to co-exist . . I run Adaware, AVG anti-spyware and Windows defender on a number of systems with no ill effects
     
  5. stantley

    stantley

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    7,091
    When I downloaded the new McAfee a couple of months ago, it wouldn't install virus scan because it detected that I had AdAware installed, apparently they conflict. I uninstalled AdAware and then McAfee installed OK.

    What are the critical objects that AdAware is finding?

    You can disable McAfee spyware protection while keeping virus scan enabled by going to this screen:
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    I am relatively certain adaware will run with any antispyware and they will all always bring up different varmints, but 1/2 of what they show you are really just tracking cookies which are relatively harmless anyway. I bet your MacAfee just gave a warning during install stantley that Adaware was there as Spybot always does, and is nothing to really worry about.
     
  7. Jimmy A

    Jimmy A Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Messages:
    230
    Thanks Stanley,

    It found that 207 thing and other data miners. Things AdAware kept out before I turned it off. AdAware is back on active duty now. I think I will turn off the McAfee spyware thing. Don't know if it's a result of any of this but something has been occasionally knocking my internet connection off in some way. It shows to be still connected but just doesn't work, until I unplug the cable modem for e few minutes and replug it again.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/537194

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice