1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New memory - Blue screens!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by jakewatt89, Nov 30, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jakewatt89

    jakewatt89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Hello,

    I just upgraded my memory, from corsair 2x2GB 1600MHz to Kingston HyperX (2x4GB)x2 (16GB total) 1600MHz DDR3 Non-ECC CL9 240-pin DIMM going into an MSI 770-C45 motherboard, and am getting a ton of blue screens.

    I have tryed to note all the errors but they dump quite fast, the one i have noted is 0x0000000003b. I also did memtest and recieved 77 errors, not knowing how to display these here i also noted one.

    Test 5, pass 0 failing address 0033fd064f8 - 13309.0 MB good 00000080 bad 000000c0 err bits 00000040 count 69

    Upon opening the case they where quite hot. Anyone haev any ideas.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,927
    First Name:
    Frank
  3. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    13,183
    First Name:
    Allan
    Try the new Ram at 1333MHz as hinted at in flavallee's reply.

    Also some Corsair Ram uses a higher voltage than normal so check it isn't set above 1.5 V in the Bios.
     
  4. jakewatt89

    jakewatt89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    I set ram to 1.5v in bios, as stated it was running at 1.65, I think this has solved the issue. Its still at 1600 MHz, but I think that will be fine. Thanks for your help.
     
  5. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,927
    First Name:
    Frank
    I suspected it was the voltage or some other problem because the other specs appeared to be okay.

    I'm glad to hear you got it resolved.

    ---------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1029080

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice