1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New Mobo and CPU - PC won't turn on

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by xrh600, Mar 18, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. xrh600

xrh600 Thread Starter

Yesterday I received by mail, my ASRock 4COREDUAL-SATA2 motherboard and my Dual Core E2160 processor. I decided that it was time to pack away the old P4 and dusty mobo I had for years. Removed the old mobo and such fine. Installed the new mobo without a hitch. (This is my first time doing this, but I'm fairly confident that I didn't screw anything up.) I installed the processor, by putting it the chip and pulling the lever to snug it in place. Popped the heatsink on (which had preapplied thermal paste) and then tightened down the pins, which took some time (and I'm still not sure if I did it right).

Anyways, I put in the psu, and hooked everything up to my understanding. 20-pin cord, 4-pin cord. The power switch, reset switch, hdd and power lights. Hooked the cd-rom, hdd, ram, pci expansions, agp video card, everything in properly. I go to turn on the pc, switch from both I / O on the back of the psu (at 120V), and I get nothing. Not a light, no spinning of the fan.

-I've double checked that this socket in the wall works, but have tried multiple.
    -I've installed my old motherboard again just to make sure that the power connectors and the power supply were still good. They are.
    -I've rearranged the positioning and such of the power connectors and lights.

The only thing that I can think of is that it was dead on arrival (which I'm doubting) No broken capacitors. The board was neatly wrapped in an anti-static bag. The bag hardly had a crease in it. Neither did the processor box. Everything just seems in mint condition, though I'm possibly wrong.