New mother board old case

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Frank4d

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
9,126
The MSI board may not fit. It is an ATX size while the board in the HP case now is a smaller micro ATX size.

To help you decide what to do, what hardware are you planning to add along with the new motherboard?
 

necrophea

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 4, 2007
Messages
72
Stock cooler on 3770k small or standard sized memory modules. And a Radeon 6950
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2003
Messages
5,599
will that video card fit in that case?
did u upgrade the power supply?
did u check the front panel connectors from the case
maybe a problem to with heat!!! those hp's are not designed to be gaming cases
 

necrophea

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 4, 2007
Messages
72
Yeah the old board is 9.6x9.6 but the case it's self is mid-sized tax...Will the new board mount?
 

necrophea

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 4, 2007
Messages
72
well the measurements are indeed different, but the case from HP is mid-sized atx not micro, but the board inside the mid-sized atx case is micro. The new board is atx form factor, 12x9.6. I doubt it will fit, but hey. What ever :) we shall see, just being impatient. Thank you for your help
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
41,716
There is more to the issue than just whether it will fit. The hp case was designed to dissipate a given amount of thermal energy. When you start adding parts ie 6950, you have more heat energy to dissipate.

I would really really consider getting a new case.

One other item; you are going to clean install windows correct? You cannot use the oem hp install with a new mb.
 

necrophea

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 4, 2007
Messages
72
I already have the 6950 in the old case.been running for awhile now...but as far as the Windows installation goes...they won't reactivate the install? Same hard drives just new mobo?
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
41,716
No. OEM type windows lic live and die with the original hardware ie mb. You change the mb and you need a new windows lic. The only mb you can legally install is a direct replace board purchased from hp or whatever mb hp designates as the replacement board.

Big box systems ie dell, hp, whatever are not really upgradeable in any real sense. You can change a few things however mb replacement is just not one of them.
 

necrophea

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 4, 2007
Messages
72
ive heard of people calling microsoft and they will actually give them a reactivation license. This wont be the case for me?
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
41,716
ive heard of people calling microsoft and they will actually give them a reactivation license. This wont be the case for me?
I am telling what is legal and what is not. You change the mb and you have to purchase a new copy of windows. You can attempt whatever you want however oem type lic are valid ONLY with the original hardware.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top