1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New Motherboard and RAM Needed

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Agonylord52, Aug 17, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Agonylord52

    Agonylord52 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Hey everybody! I've just upgraded my computer a bunch, and I want to do it some more.

    My current Motherboard only has 1 PCIe slot, and only supports DDR2 RAM. It also has LGA 775 Chipset.

    I'm wondering if it's possible to find a newer motherboard that still has the LGA 775 shipset, but also has DDR3 capability, and more than one PCIe slot (Want to crossfire my new and old graphics card).

    Any help would be much appreciated!
     
  2. Agonylord52

    Agonylord52 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    73
    So I don't have to change my processor, which is still pretty good.

    I currently have a Gigabyte Ultra Durable 3
     
  3. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    32,689
    There is no 775 chipset. I think what you are referring to is the socket which is 775. The chipset could be a 945, p35, p45, etc.
    Here is a list of available mb however they are all either low end boards or micro boards which are not going to have multiple pci-e slots.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N=100007627 600007879&IsNodeId=1&name=LGA 775

    IMO it is NOT worth putting money into a system that is at least 3 generations old tech. That is a lifetime in the computer world. In short if you want to upgrade, get a modern mb, cpu, ram, and most likely you will need a new pw supply as well.
     
  4. Agonylord52

    Agonylord52 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Alriiight :/ Oh well. I'll get all new gaming MB, Processor and RAM.

    But why do I need a new power supply? I have a new 750 watt
     
  5. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    32,689
    As long as it is a quality unit and not a low end one like a raidmax or other low end mfg, then it should be fine. I thought your pw supply would be as old as the rest of your hardware AND a pw supply usually lasts no more than 5yrs.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1065515