1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New pc build freezing when downloading anything

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Angelo01, Oct 13, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Angelo01

Angelo01 Thread Starter

So I recently built my own computer and started downloading some drivers. Everything was fine until 20-30 minutes into these downloads that my computer freezes and I’m unable to open the task manager or even move the mouse I’m just left with the only option of restarting my pc. My computer works fine on its own without downloading anything but as soon as I do start to download something it’s usually a few minutes later and my pc freezes again I sometimes get left with BSoD but no error code on screen and it’ll just restart itself. I’m not really tech savvy so I can’t really think of much besides maybe the bios is out of date or something is wrong with my hardware. Any suggestions? Thanks.

MOBO: asrock b450m pro4 f
    Cpu: ryzen 5 2600
    RAM: viper 4 2x8 16gb 3000 MHz
    Gpu: sapphire nitro+ rx580 8gb
    Psu: thermaltake smart 500w 80+
    Case: Corsair carbide spec 04

2. phillpower2

phillpower2

Hello Angelo01,

You could do with a better quality and output PSU, the one that you have is entry level and being that it is not even Bronze efficiency rated it is best suited for an office type computer that has integrated graphics rather than an 8GB GPU like you have.

What are you trying to download.

Are crash dmps enabled on your computer, you don`t list your OS so we can`t provide the steps for enabling crash dmps.

3. Angelo01

Angelo01 Thread Starter

Im not sure what crash dmps are tbh. I’m using Windows 10. Could it really be the power supply?

4. Angelo01

Angelo01 Thread Starter