1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New PC Build Issues! Help!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Sirrog, Jul 11, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Sirrog

    Sirrog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    I recently bought a loads of stuff to try and make my own pc, some of my friends have already done it so I thought it would be nice and easy (except I forgot I had never done it before myself).

    On the first go round I simply went ahead and stuck everything into the case, hoping that when I pushed the power button it would work straight away, this did not happen.

    After some failed attempts at getting my pc to work I have decided that my motherboard has a short circuit when it is the case. Is it very easy to fix this as I bought some washers earlier to try and seperate the two but cant see a way of using them? I have used the spacers that came with the motherboard but they are metal, is this normal?

    p.s. A general question that I have is why will my pc only boot up when I have single stick of RAM instead of 2?

    My pc specs:

    Case: Xclio Windtunnel
    Motherboard: Gigabyte MA780G-UD3H
    Memory: OCZ2G10664GK
    Processor:AMD Phenom 2 x4 940
    Graphics: ATI Radeon HD 4890
    PSU: OCZ stealthxstream 700w
    Hard drive: Western Digital caviar black 640GB
     
  2. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,669
    If you installed the motherboard without using the standoffs that came with the chassis then you are shorting out the board.
     
  3. Sirrog

    Sirrog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    I did use the standoffs but we have the problem anyway. I am still in the process of changing things around so I will update when I know exactly what is going on.
     
  4. Sirrog

    Sirrog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    We have got the pc working but I dont know why I cant get the 4gb RAM to work, at the moment I can only get the 2gb in there.

    Any tips?
     
  5. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    32,689
  6. Sirrog

    Sirrog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    I have 64bit Vista, when I put in the 2gb the pc starts up fine, but when I have 4gb in it beeps.
    I think it does not recognise the extra RAM, does this mean I wont be able to use it?
     
  7. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    32,689
    During post, how much memory does the board "See"
    Note gigabyte boards have a splash screen that you can disable in the bios setup to allow you to see the post data.
     
  8. Sirrog

    Sirrog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    What should I be looking for? I found the post screen. :p
     
  9. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    32,689
    If you see the post screen, you should see a memory count. Post what it says. Note if your post screen goes by too fast to see everything, you can hit the "pause" key. This will stop the post process and let you read the screen. To continue post, simply hit any key.
     
  10. Sirrog

    Sirrog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    I believe that I dont need to worry about this any more. Last night I tried putting in the extra 2gb again and for some unkown reason it worked!!

    I dont know how long this will last but the problem seems to be fixed for now.

    Is there any major difference between 64bit and 32bit, because I can't seem to find out which one I am running (it should be 64bit) but under screen resolution it only says 32bit max.

    I have read that 64bit has a lot of problems with compatibility.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/842386