1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New PC build problem, help! :(

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by toodlesoodles, Apr 4, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. toodlesoodles

    toodlesoodles Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Hey guys. Just build my sister a new PC.. here are the specs..

    - Antec NSK 4480 Mini Tower Case (Silver) - 380W Earth Watts PSU
    - Intel Core 2 Duo E2200 "LGA775 Conroe" 2.20GHz
    - Samsung SH-S203D 20x DVD±RW SATA Dual Layer ReWriter
    - Gigabyte GA-73PVM-S2H GeForce 7100 Micro-ATX (Socket 775) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard
    - Samsung SpinPoint T 500GB SATA-II 16MB Cache
    - OCZ 2GB (2x1GB) PC2-6400C4 Dual Channel Platinum Revision 2 XTC Series DDR2

    I'm no PC expert by any means, but I have built a PC (mine before), and other than incompatible RAM to begin with, I had no problems.

    So the build went well and I booted the PC up and everything seemed to be fine. I put Windows XP in to install and setup began, but during the part where it checks your configuration at the start I got a blue screen (the 'Windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer one) and so I reset the PC but now it just hangs on the 'Verifying DMI Pool Data' screen.

    I've tried a few things,

    - Checked everything is connected properly and securely
    - Tried each stick of RAM on it's own... everytime I changed the RAM around the 'Verifying DMI Pool Data' screen updates to 'Verifying DMI Pool Data ........... update success!' and then it just continues to hang
    - Resetting to optimized defaults/fail safe in the BIOS, and also resetting the CMOS
    None of this fixed the problem though.
    Next I put the hard drive from my computer in to the new build and, sure enough, it booted up in to Windows XP first time. So I now know that, for some reason, I can't get past the DMI Pool Data screen because of the new hard drive.

    However, another problem seems to have arisen. With the hard drive from my PC plugged in to this new one I can get to the desktop, sure, but after about 3 seconds the computer just resets. No error messages or blue screens, it just resets. Every time. I'm hoping that's just because of the hard drive's settings and drivers all confliction with the new computer's components though?
    Finally I tried putting the new hard drive in to my existing PC and, as I was hoping, I got the ''Verifying DMI Pool Data' error! So, it's the new hard drive then I guess? Not sure why it got past the DMI Pool Data stage the first time I turned it on, but whatever.

    Unfortunately I don't have an empty hard drive (or one I can empty) to test in the new computer.
    So any other suggestions, or is my new hard drive just faulty and in need of a replacement?
    Thanks.
     
  2. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    well you cant use your hdd with xp from your pc becuase the drivers would be different so that really isnt a surprise, see if you can find a hdd utility for the samsung drive on line and run it to test the drive, also with sata drives I thought you had to load drivers before installing the os
     
  3. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,670
  4. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
  5. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    Intel Pentium Dual-Core E2220 2.40GHz 1MB Conroe 65nm M0 65W 800 F5 is on the cpu chart
     
  6. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    rev F5 though for the bios
     
  7. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,670
    brite, the poster showed an E2200 NOT an E2220
     
  8. jazz3000

    jazz3000

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,503
    I'm probably missing something here but if your running SATA on XP did you set up with F6 or driver? Jazz
     
  9. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    typo maybe?
     
  10. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,670
    Possibly, but Intel builds an E2200, sSpec SLA8X.
     
  11. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    oh for cryin out loud;) well I guess its up to poster to check that out, that would explain it not firing up
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/700418

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice