New PC restarts when I try to install XP

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

bonds0756

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 22, 2003
Messages
6
Hey guys, I had a problem setting up my self-built system a few days ago. Turns out I had a faulty video card. I got a new card and now I can access my system BIOS. The problem is that when I try to install Windows XP, I see the Boot from CD: command, then it says "Setup is checking your hardware configuration". Every time after that my computer restarts!
What gives? Is this a hardware or software problem?? The copy of XP I am using a CDR backup of the original but it works on another PC of mine. The only other operating system I have is Windows 95 and it just says "BOOT DISK ERROR -- ENTER SYSTEM DISK" when I try to boot from it but it's so old.
Here's my setup:

P4 2.4 gHz, 800MHZ system bus, 512K cache
DFI motherboard Ps83-8L
DDR 512 MV PC3200 Simple 184 Pin DIMM
HITACHI DVD/CD Drive
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
Try removing any extra carda like video , sound etc. then retry the setup and add the cards after the install.
 

bonds0756

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 22, 2003
Messages
6
Actually the only components I have attached are the video card(I don't have onboard video), Hard Drive(not yet formatted) and the DVD/CD Drive. Should I try ripping out my USB motherboard connections or would that make a difference?
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
Yes...It may be a possibility so for the troubleshooting I would say yes..
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2003
Messages
765
Also make sure your RAM is seated properly, and didn't get hurt by static somehow.
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2003
Messages
3,956
I had this problem the first time I installed XP, I always install the OS on a minmum system just as you are however, I learned that XP has to have some sort of comunications device instaled so I poped in a modem and it installed all the way. oh yeah a NIC card will work also.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top