1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New PC restarts when I try to install XP

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by bonds0756, Sep 25, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bonds0756

    bonds0756 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Hey guys, I had a problem setting up my self-built system a few days ago. Turns out I had a faulty video card. I got a new card and now I can access my system BIOS. The problem is that when I try to install Windows XP, I see the Boot from CD: command, then it says "Setup is checking your hardware configuration". Every time after that my computer restarts!
    What gives? Is this a hardware or software problem?? The copy of XP I am using a CDR backup of the original but it works on another PC of mine. The only other operating system I have is Windows 95 and it just says "BOOT DISK ERROR -- ENTER SYSTEM DISK" when I try to boot from it but it's so old.
    Here's my setup:

    P4 2.4 gHz, 800MHZ system bus, 512K cache
    DFI motherboard Ps83-8L
    DDR 512 MV PC3200 Simple 184 Pin DIMM
    HITACHI DVD/CD Drive
     
  2. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    Try removing any extra carda like video , sound etc. then retry the setup and add the cards after the install.
     
  3. bonds0756

    bonds0756 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Actually the only components I have attached are the video card(I don't have onboard video), Hard Drive(not yet formatted) and the DVD/CD Drive. Should I try ripping out my USB motherboard connections or would that make a difference?
     
  4. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    Yes...It may be a possibility so for the troubleshooting I would say yes..
     
  5. Firah

    Firah

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    765
    Also make sure your RAM is seated properly, and didn't get hurt by static somehow.
     
  6. pronute

    pronute

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,956
    I had this problem the first time I installed XP, I always install the OS on a minmum system just as you are however, I learned that XP has to have some sort of comunications device instaled so I poped in a modem and it installed all the way. oh yeah a NIC card will work also.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/167380

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice