1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New PC Router/Network Questions

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by patmac, Oct 29, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. patmac

patmac Thread Starter

Hi,
    We have a new PC in bound and I'm wondering what's the best way to go as far as making a local network. I'm new to this, so I hope the questions will make sense.
    Presently we are using Verizon FiOS. From the drop to the Actiontec MI424WR router is a CAT5 cable, then to the computer.
    The new PC will be upstairs, about 20 feet away, as is being shipped with an Internal PCI 802.11g wireless network card.
    Will the router I have be enough? We also have a brand new Netgear WGR614.
    The Verizon tech that did the install is a neighbor, and said if I ever need another drop, to let him know, and he would do it for me. So, would it be better for another drop?
    One last question about LANs; since the new PC will be for the kids, how do I keep what ends up on their computer from also ending up on the main PC?
    I realize a primer in routers and home networks may be needed here.
    Thanks in advance for any help.

2. 00trav

00trav

i don't know if this will help, but at my house we have a cable modem hooked up to a linksys router, then i have another dlink wireless router plugged into the linksys. The firewalls on the router keep the networks separate. Also you can configure the firewalls to allow what you want though (ie block bit torrent or other p2p, or block certain domains). This will allow you to have access but limit the wireless users (ie your kids). i know this can be done with one router, but if you have two, its pretty easy.

3. Waldo_II

Waldo_II

You should be fine as far as wireless range.