new pc turns on, then dies

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

iamyourgod69

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 21, 2003
Messages
8
i just finished building my new computer and am quite frustrated. first mb/processor fried the processor (defective, as i found out while returning it and found several others returned with the same complaint), second...keyboard was getting power (the power light was turned on, meaning everything was getting power), and the computer would not start up. nothing. press the button, andd....nothing. so, i 'm on my third mb/processor. its a tease. i've got it in the case, i put in my videocard, ram, processor, cpu fan, hard drive, all the goods, set the jumpers, connected all the power cables, ect. when i have the case's a/c power switch in the back on, the backup power light comes on on the motherboard, and the power light on the motherboard switches on when i turn it on with the front button, and the computer completely powers up and lights the monitor up, for for a time between 2-10 seconds (it's been variable). then, it all just dies. the fans shut down, the hard drive powers down, the power light turns off, but not the backup power light on the motherboard, and i cannot restart it like that until i've switched the rear a/c power switch off, let the backup power light die, then switch it back on. any ideas?

my goods:
ddr 512mb pc2700 ram
athlon axdc2400dkv processor
DFI nfII 400-al motherboard
nvidea gforce4 verto graphics card
maxtor 120 gig hard drive
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,468
From your description sounds like maybe theres a problem with the powersupply, which starts to draw current and then overloads and crowbars (NOT sure if these PSU have that facility) so switches off and has to be reset.

whats the specs of the PC, Video card make etc and whats the power rating of the PSU - if its a 250W PSU and you have a video card which needs loads of power, this would fail.

Check there are no shorts anywhere like motherboard touching the case, also that the pillars are all in correct postion for Motherboard.

You could fault find by leaving the psu unplugged from anything in PC and then see if it stops and then just plugging 1 connector from PSU in at a time and isolate the problem, so start with just MoBO and see if this fails.
 

iamyourgod69

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 21, 2003
Messages
8
my boyfriend's been helpin me out with this, he brought me his power supply which is for sure working and still nothing. i'll check out everything else, but i'm not sure. power supply was my first guess.
 

iamyourgod69

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 21, 2003
Messages
8
i switched the red switch on my psu fron 115 to 230, it will start up and stay running, not i just can't get anything on the monitor. grrrrrrr
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
The US runs on 110. It should not run at all on 230 if you are stateside. did you place the motherboard standoffs correctly to isolate the motherboard from the case?
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2003
Messages
511
Definatly sounds like the power supply isnt powerful enough for what you want.
Can you list what wattage the PSU is and what you have it connected to.
 

iamyourgod69

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 21, 2003
Messages
8
my psu is 420 watts, connected to m/b, hard drive, 4 fans....and my video card only requires a 250 watt psu. i don't understand how it worked at 220 because i am in the states and power's 110. it worked though....but i don't want to fry anything so i'm not trying that one again
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2002
Messages
464
Ran into this problem today with a Compaq Evo 510 tower. The solution was simple but may not be your situation, but worth a shot anyway. Remove the front bezel of the case (The front platic part of your case that covers up the cd drives floppy drive and everything else). Check the button for the power supply. Make sure it's not obstructed by anything. (Ours was actually stuck behind a metal frame). Push the power and see if it turns on.

Our problem sounded exactly like yours, if you unplug the power supply for about 5 seconds, then plug it in again, it would boot up right away (at least turn on), then shut itself off and you couldn't turn it on again using the power button.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2004
Messages
2
I got the same problem as you guys. I resently purchased an Athlon 2100+ processor and installed it. My CPU worked perfectly for about an hour then i shut my cpu down. When i try to boot up again, the power turns on for about 2 seconds then dies.

I found that my computer turns on if i remove the processor (naturally it doesn't do anything, except the fans start up). Could I have fried the processor?
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2004
Messages
28
Might be a long shot but Could be PSU overheating and shutting down.
Check that the heatsink is correctly seated and that you have a nice thin layer of thermal grease.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2004
Messages
2
Yeah it has thermal grease and the heatsink is fine. Could it though be a bad processor?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top