New Pc wont work!!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

jozza800

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 15, 2002
Messages
70
Ive recently just purchased a new motherboard AZN266-VM, a new CPU AMD athlon 2000xp. and a new case ATX. i aslo have used HDD and Cddrives of an old computer.

Ive hooked it all up and nothing!

The Motherboard LED is on so there is power getting through, there are no beeps, which isnt a good sign. There is no case fan but that shouldnt really matter.

On power up should the CPU fan start spinning?

Also, in the manual it says

'c, System power (if u are using an ATX (i am) power supply, you need to switch on the power supply aswell as pressing the power switch on the front of the chassis.)

Does this mean there is a power switch somewher i dont know about?

Any help would be grateful
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2000
Messages
4,168
You may find there is a switch on the back of the case where the psu is attached. But if you have a light coming on when you power it from the front it The switch must be on already. Check to see if there is a switch there marked 115 - 230. This should be set to 115.

Also the mother board may be shorted to the case by one of the standoffs. Try powering it with nothing but cpu, memory and video and see what happens. If still nothing detach it from the case and set in on a piece of cardboard to keep it from shorting and try it.

The cpu fan should turn when you power up. So shoukld the fan in the psu. watch for these as an indication og power.
 

jozza800

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 15, 2002
Messages
70
No the CPu fan doesnr work, nothing happens, ive tried hooking it up to an older pc but the same i think it might be the CPU i couldnt find any extra switches near the power supply either.

What happens if the cpu is scratched say! Would that have any adverse affect. I might of damaged it when putting the heat sink and fan on.
 

dud

Guest
Joined
Jan 10, 2003
Messages
122
It might be something as simple as the CMOS jumper needs resetting, or even the actual power switch cable from switch to motherboard...you might have it plugged onto the wrong pins? I've done that myself before.
:cool:
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2000
Messages
4,168
some boards are shipped with a jumper near the cpu that needs to be moved. I believe it is the one to clear the bios. I would check this next to see if it is set right.
 

jozza800

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 15, 2002
Messages
70
whats the powerswitch cable? also not connecting this properly would this stop the processor and fan
 

jozza800

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 15, 2002
Messages
70
Aslo the jumpers u mention are they KBPWR and USBPWR these are for a keyboard and usb devices.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2001
Messages
1,869
Just a thought, are you using a cpu fan that is connected to the three pin fan header on the motherboard? If you are using an old style cpu fan that hooks to the power supply, the board will not detect a fan and will not power up.

SeeYa
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2001
Messages
1,869
Also, ensure your power switch connector from the case is on the 4th set of connectors on the 20 pin block at the botttom right of the board with the positive lead toward the inside of the board. (page 32 in the manual)
 

jozza800

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 15, 2002
Messages
70
Ive fixed the problem, the power switch was put on the wrong way!!!!, now i have a new problem

When trying to boot up my hdd i get the following message;

'Windows could not start because the following file is missing or crrupt;

<windows root>\system32\ntoskrnl.exe
please reinstall a copy of the above file'

I cant get into the bios by pressing DEL it just bypasses it and goes to the above message.

THe HDD has XP installed on it and worked ok on my previous MB. Although i remember having a similar problem when installing it the first time but cant remember how i solved it.

I have tried hooking up the CDdrive and put an Xp disc in it but still nothing.

Any more help would be grateful

thanx
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2000
Messages
4,168
First check your manual. Some bios's use another key to enter. With the 2000 xp booting so fast, start hitting the key as soon as you turn it on. I have to do it with mine to get into bios.

You may have to wipe the hard drive and reinstall xp as it will see several changes in hardware with the new drive including motherboard and cpu. Xp does not like a lot of chages. Not sure where I read it but it even checks the serial number of cpu.

If all else fails to get to bios unhook the hard drive until you get the bios set.
 

jozza800

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 15, 2002
Messages
70
Thanx everyone for your help. Ive figured it all out, i had to reformat my HD aslso i think there may be a faulty connector or something on my Mb cause every now and then it knocks of if you touch it. But it works none the less

cheers
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top